Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 9. Environment
Agency 5. State Air Pollution Control Board
Chapter 80. Permits for Stationary Sources
11/18/2019

9VAC5-80-350. Annual Permit Program Emissions Fee Payment.

A. Upon determining that the owner owes an annual permit program emissions fee, the department shall mail a bill for the fee to that owner no later than August 1 unless the governor determines that fees are needed earlier for Virginia to maintain primacy over the program, as provided in § 10.1-1322 B of the Virginia Air Pollution Control Law.

B. Within 30 days following the date of the postmark on the bill, the owner shall respond in one of the following ways:

1. The owner may pay the fee in full.

2. The owner may pay the fee in equal quarterly payments and shall pay one quarter of the fee. The first payment shall be accompanied by a written statement that the second quarter of the fee shall be paid no later than December 1 of the year of the issuance of the bill, the third quarter of the fee shall be paid no later than March 1 of the year following the issuance of the bill, and the fourth quarter of the fee shall be paid no later than June 1 of the year following the issuance of the bill. If an owner fails to pay a quarterly payment by the deadline, the department may, in addition to other remedies available under the law, issue to the owner a notice of failure to pay. The notice will require payment of the entire remainder of the annual fee payment within 30 days of the date of the notice, or inform the owner that the owner is ineligible to opt for the quarterly payment schedule established in this subdivision until eligibility is reinstated by written notice from the department, or both.

3. The owner may request that the fee amount be revised if the owner can document that the emissions estimate on which the fee was based is in error. This request shall include appropriate source identification data, the revised emissions estimate, the revised fee amount, adequate supporting documentation, and other information as the department may require. The owner shall file the request with the appropriate regional office in a form acceptable to the department. If the department approves the request, the revised fee amount shall be paid in one of two ways:

a. In full within 30 days of the date of approval; or

b. In quarterly payments, with the first payment being paid within 30 days of the date of approval and the other payments being paid according to the schedule set out in subdivision 2 of this subsection.

C. The annual permit program emissions fee shall be paid by check, draft, or money order made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia and mailed to the address specified by the department.

Statutory Authority

§ 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia; federal Clean Air Act (§§ 110, 112, 165, 173, 182, and Title V); 40 CFR Parts 51, 61, 63, 70, and 72.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR120-08-0605, eff. April 1, 1995; amended, Volume 12, Issue 25, eff. October 15, 1996; Volume 17, Issue 20, eff. July 18, 2001; Volume 28, Issue 22, eff. July 1, 2012.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.