Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 9. Environment
Agency 5. State Air Pollution Control Board
Chapter 91. Regulations for the Control of Motor Vehicle Emissions in the Northern Virginia Area
11/28/2020

9VAC5-91-610. Consent orders and penalties for violations.

A. Penalties for violations of the Virginia Motor Vehicle Emissions Control Law, this chapter, permits, licenses, certifications, and orders include letters of reprimand, probation, suspension, and revocation.

B. Penalties may be imposed as a result of an informal fact finding or formal hearing, and may be negotiated by the parties for inclusion in consent orders.

C. A consent order shall contain an agreed-to penalty in the form of a letter of reprimand, probationary period, or suspension, or a civil charge, a combination thereof, or other agreed upon actions.

D. For any minor violation, as described in 9VAC5-91-630, the director may negotiate or impose pursuant to an informal fact finding or formal hearing:

1. A letter of reprimand.

2. For the second minor violation within 24 months, a letter of reprimand and a probationary period not to exceed 12 months.

E. For any major violation, as described in 9VAC5-91-620, the director may negotiate or impose pursuant to an informal fact finding or formal hearing:

1. A letter of reprimand.

2. A letter of reprimand and a probationary period not to exceed 12 months.

3. A suspension of a permit, license or certification followed by a probationary period not to exceed 12 months.

4. A revocation of a permit, license or certification.

F. Suspensions shall be for a period not to exceed one year.

G. In the case of multiple violations, suspensions may run concurrently.

H. No application for a permit, license, or certification from a person whose permit, license, or certification has been revoked shall be considered by the director until (i) 12 months have elapsed from the date of revocation and (ii) until the conditions of 9VAC5-91-240 D, 9VAC5-91-390 D, 9VAC5-91-520 I or 9VAC5-91-560 G have been satisfied.

I. Emissions inspectors, certified emissions repair technicians and certified emissions repair facilities are subject to the same penalties that may be imposed on emissions inspection station permit holders. Such penalties shall be imposed separately on each affected party only as part of a consent order or through an informal fact finding or formal hearing. The director shall consider a party's level of responsibility for the violation in negotiating a consent order or in imposing a particular level of penalty pursuant to an informal fact finding or a formal hearing.

J. Any intentional falsification of an emissions inspection shall result in a revocation; or in a suspension of the inspector's license, or the station permit for not less than six months, or an equivalent civil charge, or both.

K. As a condition of probation, terms may be imposed during the probationary period that must be complied with by the violator. The terms may include a requirement that the permittee, licensee, or certified repair technician perform additional or periodic demonstrations of competency or obtain additional training. Completion of such terms to the satisfaction of the department may serve as a basis for reducing the probationary period.

Statutory Authority

§ 46.2-1180 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Volume 13, Issue 12, eff. April 2, 1997; amended, Virginia Register Volume 18, Issue 20, eff. October 1, 2002.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.