Administrative Code

Virginia Administrative Code
6/30/2022

Part VI. Waiver of Charges

12VAC5-200-220. General.

In instances when patients have financial hardships and there are no other avenues of care, the patient, guardian or other authorized person may request a waiver of charges for up to 180 calendar days. A waiver shall be requested in writing to the district director. If a waiver is granted, it shall be for the duration of the financial hardship or 180 days, whichever is shorter.

If the waiver request is approved, the patient will receive a full discount for all charges while covered by the waiver. If the waiver request is denied, the charges will continue as before.

Statutory Authority

§§ 32.1-11 and 32.1-12 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR355-39-100 § 6.1, eff. December 1, 1993; amended, Virginia Register Volume 20, Issue 22, eff. August 11, 2004.

12VAC5-200-230. Waivers.

A. The commissioner is authorized to grant or deny requested waivers and may delegate this authority to the district directors. A waiver to all or a portion of a charge may be granted for reasons of unusually serious health problems or extraordinary financial hardship. A resulting waived or partially waived charge shall be determined by the commissioner or designee, and reviewed and revised as needed. The commissioner or designee shall also identify those expenses that are considered to be medical bills, and shall review and revise this determination as needed.

B. In the event of an adverse decision, the patient, guardian or other authorized person will be advised of their rights to appeal under Part VII.

C. Waivers will not be continued past 180 days. Additional waivers may be granted, but the applicant must reapply at least every 180 days.

D. No person believed to be eligible for Medicaid or any state-sponsored children's medical insurance program and who has failed to complete an application for these programs will be eligible for a waiver.

Statutory Authority

§§ 32.1-11 and 32.1-12 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR355-39-100 § 6.2 through § 6.5, eff. December 1, 1993; amended, Virginia Register Volume 20, Issue 22, eff. August 11, 2004.

12VAC5-200-240. [Reserved]. (Reserved)

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.