Administrative Code

Virginia Administrative Code
2/28/2021

Part II. Certification Process

17VAC15-100-20. Certification by endorsement.

A certificate shall be issued to an applicant who holds a current, valid certificate granted by another jurisdiction, providing that the standards for granting this certificate are comparable to those required for certification in the Commonwealth.

Statutory Authority

§§ 42.1-8 and 42.1-15.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR440-01-149.2 § 2.1, eff. March 28, 1990.

17VAC15-100-30. Certification by education.

A certificate shall be issued to an applicant who has earned a master's degree from a school of library or information science that had a program accredited by the American Library Association at the time the degree was awarded. A certificate shall be issued to an applicant who has earned a doctoral degree in library or information science from an accredited institution.

Statutory Authority

§§ 42.1-8 and 42.1-15.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR440-01-149.2 § 2.2, eff. March 28, 1990.

17VAC15-100-40. Provisional certification.

A provisional letter of certification shall be issued to an applicant who has satisfactorily completed the required credits for a master's degree from a school of library and information science accredited by the American Library Association. The provisional letter of certification grants the applicant a one-year period to submit proof of the receipt of an MLS degree.

Statutory Authority

§§ 42.1-8 and 42.1-15.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR440-01-149.2 § 2.3, eff. March 28, 1990.

17VAC15-100-50. Certification fee.

All applications shall be made on forms to be secured from the Human Resource Officer of the Virginia State Library and Archives. The fee required by this article shall be submitted with the application.

The fee for permanent certification, established by the State Library Board, shall be $50.

A provisional letter of certification shall be $50. If proof of the MLS degree is submitted within a one-year period, no additional fees will be assessed for permanent certification.

The fee for a duplicate certificate shall be $10.

Statutory Authority

§§ 42.1-8 and 42.1-15.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR440-01-149.2 § 2.4, eff. March 28, 1990.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.