Administrative Code

Virginia Administrative Code
5/14/2021

Part V. Educational Offerings

18VAC130-20-200. Requirement for the approval of appraisal educational offerings.

Pursuant to the mandate of Title 11 of the Federal Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery and Enforcement Act of 1989, § 54.1-2013 of the Code of Virginia, and the qualifications criteria set forth by the Appraisal Qualifications Board of the Appraisal Foundation, all educational offerings submitted for prelicensure and continuing education credit shall be approved by the board. Educational offerings that have been approved by the Appraiser Qualifications Board shall be considered to have met the standards for approval set forth in this chapter. Prelicense course applications received by the department or its agent must be complete within 12 months of the date of the receipt of the application and fee by the department or its agent.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2013 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR 583-01-03 § 5.1, eff. April 15, 1992; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 4, eff. January 1, 1995; Volume 19, Issue 18, eff. July 1, 2003; Volume 24, Issue 23, eff. September 1, 2008.

18VAC130-20-210. Standards for the approval of appraisal educational offerings for prelicensure credit.

A. Content.

1. Prior to licensure, applicants shall have successfully completed the 15 hour National Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice course or its equivalent.

2. While various appraisal courses may be credited toward the classroom requirement specified for each classification of licensure, all applicants for licensure as an appraiser trainee, a licensed residential, certified residential, or certified general real estate appraiser must demonstrate that their course work included coverage of the required topics listed below.

Basic appraisal principles (30 hours)
Basic appraisal procedures (30 hours)
Residential market analysis and highest and best use (15 hours)
Residential appraiser site valuation and cost approach (15 hours)
Residential sales comparison and income approaches (30 hours)
Residential report writing and case studies (15 hours)
Statistics, modeling and finance (15 hours)
Advanced residential applications and case studies (15 hours)
General appraiser market analysis and highest and best use (30 hours)
General appraiser sales comparison approach (30 hours)
General appraiser site valuation and cost approach (30 hours)
General appraiser income approach (60 hours)
General appraiser report writing and case studies (30 hours)

3. All appraisal and appraisal-related offerings presented for prelicense credit must have a final, written examination. The examination may not be an open book examination.

4. Credit toward the classroom hour requirement to satisfy the educational requirement prior to licensure shall be granted only where the length of the educational offering is at least 15 classroom hours.

B. Instruction. With the exception of courses taught at accredited colleges, universities, junior and community colleges, or adult distributive or marketing education programs, all other prelicense educational offerings given after January 1, 1993, must be taught by instructors certified by the board. All courses in the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice must be instructed by an Appraisal Qualifications Board certified instructor.

Statutory Authority

§§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2013 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR583-01-03 § 5.2, eff. April 15, 1992; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 4, eff. January 1, 1995; Volume 14, Issue 10, eff. March 4, 1998; Volume 19, Issue 18, eff. July 1, 2003; Volume 24, Issue 6, eff. January 1, 2008.

18VAC130-20-220. Standards for the approval of appraisal educational offerings for continuing education credit.

A. Content.

1. The content of courses, seminars, workshops or conferences that may be accepted for continuing education credit includes, but is not limited to those topics listed in 18VAC130-20-210 A 2 and below.

Ad valorem taxation

Arbitration, dispute resolution

Courses related to the practice of real estate appraisal or consulting

Development cost estimating

Ethics and standards of professional practice, Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice

Fair housing

Land use planning, zoning

Management, leasing, timesharing

Property development, partial interests

Real estate financing and investment

Real estate law, easements, and legal interests

Real estate litigation, damages, condemnation

Real estate appraisal related computer applications

Real estate securities and syndication

Developing opinions of real property value in appraisals that also include personal property or business value

Seller concessions and impact on value

Energy efficient items and "green building" appraisals

2. Courses, seminars, workshops or conferences submitted for continuing education credit must indicate that the licensee participated in an educational program that maintained and increased his knowledge, skill and competency in real estate appraisal.

3. Credit toward the classroom hour requirement to satisfy the continuing education requirements shall be granted only where the length of the educational offering is at least two hours and the licensee participated in the full length of the program.

B. Instruction. Although continuing education offerings are not required to be taught by board certified instructors, the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice course must be taught by an Appraiser Qualifications Board certified instructor who is also a state certified appraiser.

Statutory Authority

§§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2013 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR583-01-03 § 5.3, eff. April 15, 1992; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 4, eff. January 1, 1995; Volume 14, Issue 10, eff. March 4, 1998; Volume 19, Issue 18, eff. July 1, 2003; Volume 24, Issue 6, eff. January 1, 2008; Volume 31, Issue 3, eff. January 1, 2015.

18VAC130-20-230. Procedures for awarding prelicense and continuing education credits.

A. Course credits shall be awarded only once for courses having substantially equivalent content.

B. Proof of completion of such course, seminar, workshop or conference may be in the form of a transcript, certificate, letter of completion or in any such written form as may be required by the board. All courses, seminars and workshops submitted for prelicensure and continuing education credit must indicate the number of classroom hours.

C. Information that may be requested by the board in order to further evaluate course content includes, but is not limited to, course descriptions, syllabi, or textbook references.

D. All transcripts, certificates, letters of completion or similar documents submitted to verify completion of seminars, workshops or conferences for continuing education credit must indicate successful completion of the course, seminar, workshop or conference. Applicants must furnish written proof of having received a passing grade in all prelicense education courses submitted.

E. All courses, seminars, workshops, or conferences submitted for satisfaction of continuing education requirements must be satisfactory to the board.

F. Prelicense courses. A distance education course may be acceptable to meet the classroom hour requirement or its equivalent provided that the course is approved by the board, the learner successfully completes a written examination proctored by an official approved by the presenting entity, college, or university, the course meets the requirements for qualifying education established by the Appraiser Qualifications Board, the course is equivalent to the minimum of 15 classroom hours and meets one of the following conditions:

1. The course is presented by an accredited (Commission on Colleges or a regional accreditation association) college or university that offers distance education programs in other disciplines; or

2. The course has received approval of the International Distance Education Certification Center (IDECC) for the course design and delivery mechanism and either the approval of the Appraisal Qualifications Board through its course approval program or the approval of the board for the content of the course.

G. Continuing education. Distance education courses may be acceptable to meet the continuing education requirement provided that the course is approved by the board, is a minimum of two classroom hours, meets the requirements for continuing education established by the Appraiser Qualifications Board and meets one of the following conditions:

1. The course is presented to an organized group in an instructional setting with a person qualified and available to answer questions, provide information, and monitor student attendance;

2. The course has been presented by an accredited (Commission on Colleges or regional accreditation association) college or university that offers distance education programs in other disciplines and the student successfully completes a written examination proctored by an official approved by the presenting college or university or by the sponsoring organization consistent with the requirements of the course accreditation; or if a written examination is not required for accreditation, the student successfully completes the course mechanisms required for accreditation that demonstrate mastery and fluency (said mechanisms must be present in a course without an exam in order to be acceptable); or

3. The course has received approval of the IDECC for the course design and delivery mechanism and either the approval of the Appraiser Qualifications Board through its course approval program or the approval of the board for the content of the course and the student successfully completes a written examination proctored by an official approved by the presenting college or university or by the sponsoring organization consistent with the requirements of the course accreditation; or if a written examination is not required for accreditation, the student successfully completes the course mechanisms required for accreditation that demonstrate mastery and fluency (said mechanisms must be present in a course without an exam in order to be acceptable).

Statutory Authority

§§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2013 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR583-01-03 § 5.4, eff. April 15, 1992; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 4, eff. January 1, 1995; Volume 14, Issue 10, eff. March 4, 1998; Volume 19, Issue 18, eff. July 1, 2003; Volume 24, Issue 6, eff. January 1, 2008; Volume 24, Issue 23, eff. September 1, 2008; Volume 31, Issue 3, eff. January 1, 2015.

18VAC130-20-240. Course approval fees.

Course Approval Fee

$150

Statutory Authority

§§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2013 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR583-01-03 § 5.5, eff. April 15, 1992; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 4, eff. January 1, 1995; Volume 31, Issue 20, eff. August 1, 2015.

18VAC130-20-250. Reapproval of courses required.

Approval letters issued under this chapter for educational offerings shall expire two years from the last day of the month in which they were issued, as indicated in the approval letter. The reapproval fee shall be equivalent to the original approval fee specified in 18VAC130-20-240. For courses expiring on May 31, 2021, and before May 1, 2023, the course reapproval fee shall be $25.

Statutory Authority

§§ 54.1-201 and 54.2013 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR583-01-03 § 5.6, eff. April 15, 1992; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 4, eff. January 1, 1995; Volume 14, Issue 10, eff. March 4, 1998; Volume 34, Issue 9, eff. February 1, 2018; Volume 37, Issue 16, eff. May 1, 2021.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.