Administrative Code

Virginia Administrative Code
6/30/2022

Part III. The Criminal History Record Report

22VAC40-90-40. General requirements.

A. The applicant for licensure shall submit a criminal history record report upon application for licensure as an assisted living facility.

B. The criminal history record report shall be obtained on or prior to the 30th day of employment for each employee.

C. Any person required by this chapter to obtain a criminal history record report shall be ineligible for employment if the report contains convictions of the barrier crimes.

D. If a criminal history record is requested, it shall be the responsibility of the licensee to ensure that the employee has not been convicted of any of the barrier crimes.

E. Criminal history record reports shall be kept confidential. Reports on employees shall only be received by the facility administrator, licensee, board president, or their designee.

F. A criminal history record report issued by the State Police shall not be accepted by the facility if the report is dated more than 90 days prior to the date of employment.

G. Any applicant denied licensure as an assisted living facility or employment at an assisted living facility or adult day care center because of convictions appearing on his criminal history record report shall be provided a copy of the report by the licensing authority or the hiring facility.

H. A facility shall not continue to employ any person who has a conviction of any of the barrier crimes.

Statutory Authority

§ 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR615-37-01 § 3.1, eff. July 1, 1989; amended, Virginia Register Volume 8, Issue 17, eff. July 1, 1993; Volume 21, Issue 18, eff. July 1, 2005; Volume 22, Issue 22, eff. September 1, 2006; Volume 33, Issue 2, eff. October 19, 2016.

22VAC40-90-50. Validity of criminal history record reports.

A. Facility staff shall accept only the original criminal history record report. Photocopies will not be acceptable.

EXCEPTION: Facilities using temporary agencies for the provision of substitute staff shall request a letter from the agency containing the following information:

1. The name of the substitute staff person;

2. The date of employment; and

3. A statement verifying that the criminal history record report has been obtained within 30 days of employment, is on file at the temporary agency, and does not contain barrier crimes.

This letter shall have the same maintenance and retention requirements of a criminal history record report.

B. Each criminal history record report shall be verified by the operator of the facility by matching the name, social security number and date of birth to establish that all information pertaining to the individual cleared through the Central Criminal Records Exchange is exactly the same as another form of identification such as a driver's license. If any of the information does not match, a new criminal history record request must be submitted to the Central Criminal Records Exchange with correct information.

C. A criminal history record report remains valid as long as the employee remains in continuous service at the same facility.

D. When an individual terminates employment at one facility and begins work at another facility, the criminal history record report secured for the prior facility shall not be valid for the new facility. A new criminal history record report and sworn statement or affirmation shall be required.

EXCEPTIONS:

1. When an employee transfers to a facility owned and operated by the same entity, with a lapse in service of not more than 30 days, a new criminal history record report shall not be required. The file at the previous facility shall contain a statement in the record of the former employee indicating that the original criminal history record report has been transferred or forwarded to the new location.

2. A criminal history record report for an individual who takes a leave of absence will remain valid as long as the period of separation does not exceed six consecutive months. Once a period of six consecutive months has expired, a new criminal history record report and sworn statement or affirmation are required.

Statutory Authority

§§ 63.2-1702, 63.2-1720 and 63.2-1721 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR615-37-01 § 3.2, eff. July 1, 1989; amended, Virginia Register Volume 8, Issue 17, eff. July 1, 1993; Volume 21, Issue 18, eff. July 1, 2005.

22VAC40-90-60. Maintenance of criminal history record reports.

A. The original report shall be maintained at the facility where the person is employed.

B. Criminal history record reports conforming to the requirements for all employed staff shall be maintained in the files of the facility during the time the individual is employed and for one year after termination of work.

EXCEPTION: See 22VAC40-90-50 D 1.

C. Criminal history record reports shall be made available by the facility to the licensing representative.

D. When an employee is rotated among several facilities owned or operated by the same entity, the original criminal history record report shall be maintained at the primary place of work or designated facility location. A copy of the criminal history record report shall be on file at the facility where the employee is actively working which has a notation of where the original report is filed.

E. Criminal history record reports shall be maintained in locked files accessible only to the licensee, administrator, board president, or their designee.

F. Further dissemination of the criminal history record report information is prohibited other than to the commissioner's representative or a federal or state authority or court as may be required to comply with an express requirement of law for such further dissemination.

Statutory Authority

§§ 63.2-1702, 63.2-1720 and 63.2-1721 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR615-37-01 § 3.3, eff. July 1, 1989; amended, Volume 8, Issue 17, eff. July 1, 1993; Volume 19, Issue 2, eff. November 6, 2002; Volume 21, Issue 18, eff. July 1, 2005.

22VAC40-90-70. Issuance of a license.

The commissioner shall not issue a license to an assisted living facility if an applicant for licensure required to have a background check has been convicted of a barrier crime as defined in this chapter.

Statutory Authority

§§ 63.2-217, 63.2-1702, 63.2-1720, and 63.2-1721 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 21, Issue 18, eff. July 1, 2005; amended, Virginia Register Volume 34, Issue 2, eff. October 19, 2017.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.