Administrative Code

Virginia Administrative Code
3/4/2021

Part VIII. Reinstatement and Renewal Extension

6VAC20-173-210. Reinstatement.

A. Any training school, instructor, or detector canine handler examiner certification not renewed on or before the expiration date shall become null and void. Pursuant to the Code of Virginia, all such persons must currently be certified with the department to provide private security services.

B. A renewal application must be received by the department within 60 days following the expiration date of the certification in order to be reinstated by the department providing all renewal requirements have been met. Prior to reinstatement the following shall be submitted to the department:

1. The appropriate renewal application and completion of renewal requirements including required training pursuant to this chapter; and

2. The applicable, nonrefundable reinstatement fee pursuant to this chapter.

The department shall not reinstate renewal applications received after the 60-day reinstatement period has expired. It is unlawful to operate without a valid certification including during the reinstatement period.

C. No certification shall be renewed or reinstated when all renewal application requirements are received by the department more than 60 days following the expiration date of the license. After that date, the applicant shall meet all initial application requirements, including applicable training requirements.

D. Following submittal of all reinstatement requirements, the department will process and may approve any application for reinstatement pursuant to the renewal process for the application.

E. When a certification is reinstated, the applicant shall continue to have the same DCJS number and shall be assigned an expiration date two years from the previous expiration date of the certification.

F. An applicant who reinstates shall be regarded as having been continuously certified without interruption. Therefore, the applicant shall remain under the disciplinary authority of the department during this entire period and may be held accountable for his activities during this period.

G. A person who fails to reinstate his certification shall be regarded as uncertified from the expiration date of the certification forward.

H. Nothing in this chapter shall divest the department of its authority to discipline a person for a violation of the law or regulations during the period of time for which the person was certified.

Statutory Authority

§ 9.1-141 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Volume 31, Issue 25, eff. September 9, 2015.

6VAC20-173-220. Renewal extension.

A. An extension of the time period to meet renewal requirements may be approved only under specific circumstances that do not allow private security personnel or training schools to complete the required procedures within the prescribed time period. The following are the only circumstances for which extensions may be granted:

1. Extended illness;

2. Extended injury;

3. Military or foreign service; or

4. Any emergency temporary assignment of private security personnel for purposes of natural disaster, homeland security, or documented threat by the private security services training school for which he is employed.

B. A request for extension shall:

1. Be submitted in writing, dated, and signed by the individual or principal of a certified entity prior to the expiration date of the time limit required for completion of the requirements. This requirement may be waived by the department based on an evaluation of the justification for waiver;

2. Indicate the projected date the person or training school will be able to comply with the requirements; and

3. Include a copy of the physician's record of the injury or illness, a copy of the government orders, or documentation of emergency temporary assignment.

C. Applications for additional extensions may be approved upon written request of the person or training school.

D. The total time for renewal extension, including additional extensions, shall not exceed 12 months beyond the original expiration date. If renewal requirements are not met during the period of extension, the individual must complete all initial training requirements to include applicable entry-level training.

E. The private security services person or training school shall be nonoperational during the period of extension unless otherwise (i) issued a temporary exemption and (ii) authorized by the department pursuant to § 9.1-139 of the Code of Virginia.

Statutory Authority

§ 9.1-141 of the Code of Virginia

Historical Notes

Derived from Volume 31, Issue 25, eff. September 9, 2015.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.