Administrative Code

Virginia Administrative Code
2/28/2021

Part VII. Training Requirements and Exemptions

6VAC20-174-160. Entry-level training.

A. Each person employed by a private security services business or applying to the department for registration as an unarmed security officer, an armed security officer/courier, a personal protection specialist, armored car personnel, a security canine handler, an explosives detector canine handler, a narcotics detector canine handler, a private investigator, an alarm respondent, a locksmith, a central station dispatcher, an electronic security sales representative, or an electronic security technician, or electronic security technician's assistant as defined by § 9.1-138 of the Code of Virginia must meet the compulsory minimum training standards herein established, unless provided for otherwise in accordance with this chapter.

B. Training will be credited only if application for registration is received by the department within 12 months of completion of training.

Statutory Authority

§ 9.1-141 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Volume 31, Issue 25, eff. September 9, 2015.

6VAC20-174-170. In-service training.

Each person registered with the department as an armed security officer/courier, a personal protection specialist, armored car personnel, a security canine handler, a narcotics detector canine handler, an explosives detector canine handler, a private investigator, an alarm respondent, a locksmith, a central station dispatcher, an electronic security sales representative, an electronic security technician, an unarmed security officer, or an electronic security technician's assistant shall complete the compulsory in-service training standard once during each 24-month period of registration.

Statutory Authority

§ 9.1-141 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Volume 31, Issue 25, eff. September 9, 2015.

6VAC20-174-180. Training exemptions.

Persons who meet the statutory requirements as set forth in § 9.1-141 of the Code of Virginia may apply for a partial exemption from the compulsory training standards. Individuals requesting such partial exemption shall file an application furnished by the department and include the applicable, nonrefundable application fee. The department may issue such partial exemption on the basis of individual qualifications as supported by required documentation. Those applying for and receiving exemptions must comply with all regulations promulgated by the board. Each person receiving a partial exemption for entry-level training must apply to the department for registration within 12 months from the date of issuance, otherwise the partial exemption shall become null and void.

Statutory Authority

§ 9.1-141 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Volume 31, Issue 25, eff. September 9, 2015.

6VAC20-174-190. Entry-level training exemption.

A. Persons previously employed as law-enforcement officers who have not terminated or been terminated from said employment more than five years prior to the application date must submit official documentation of the following with the application for exemption:

1. Completion of law-enforcement entry-level training; and

2. Five continuous years of law-enforcement employment provided such employment as a law-enforcement officer was not terminated due to misconduct or incompetence.

B. Persons having previous training or employment in any of the classifications defined in § 9.1-138 of the Code of Virginia must submit official documentation of the following with the application for exemption:

1. Completion of previous private security training that has been approved by the department and that meets or exceeds the compulsory minimum training standards promulgated by the board; or

2. Five years continuous employment in the category for which exemption is sought, provided such employment was not terminated due to misconduct or incompetence and such employment ended within five years of the date of application.

Statutory Authority

§ 9.1-141 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Volume 31, Issue 25, eff. September 9, 2015.

6VAC20-174-200. In-service training exemption.

Persons who have completed training that meets or exceeds the compulsory minimum training standards promulgated by the board for the in-service training required for the individual's particular category may be authorized credit for such training, provided the training has been completed within 24 months of the expiration date of the registration period during which in-service training is required. Such training must be provided by a third party organization category. Official documentation of the following must accompany the application for in-service training credit:

1. Information regarding the sponsoring organization, including documentation regarding the instructor for each session;

2. An outline of the training session material, including the dates, times, and specific subject matter; and

3. Proof of attendance and successful completion.

Statutory Authority

§ 9.1-141 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Volume 31, Issue 25, eff. September 9, 2015.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.