Administrative Code

Virginia Administrative Code
9/22/2021

Chapter 10. Motor Vehicles Parking and Traffic Regulations

Part I
General Provisions

8VAC115-10-10. Decals.

A. Decals shall be permanently affixed to the left rear bumper or on the outside of the left rear windshield. No parking decal may be taped inside the vehicle.

B. The Parking Services office will recognize an official grace period in August of each school year for "No Decal" violations. For the Fall 1993 session, the grace period extends through August 31, 1993. During the grace period, only "No Decal" violations will be waived. Parking enforcement officers will continue to cite all other violations during the grace period. Student vehicles that are parked in faculty/staff spaces during the grace period will receive a citation for Reserved Space.

C. The costs of decals vary to accommodate various categories of students and are adjusted at different times of the year. The following rates apply:

Category

Aug 95

Jan 96

Apr 96

Faculty/Staff/Student

$52.00

$31.00

$21.00

Non-College Affiliated

$52.00

$31.00

$21.00

Hourly/Part-time Employee

$26.00

$26.00

$21.00

Evening Student

$26.00

$26.00

$21.00

William & Mary Hall Lot Only

$21.00

$21.00

$21.00

Motorcycle

$26.00

$26.00

$21.00

Additional Decal

$5.00

$5.00

$5.00

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 1.1, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

8VAC115-10-20. Temporary permits.

A. Temporary permits are available for periods not to exceed two weeks and cost $1.00 per week. After the two-week period has expired, a permanent decal must be purchased.

B. Temporary permits, at no charge and with a two-hour limit, are available for loading and unloading (two-hour limit), temporary handicaps, temporary plates and car repairs.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 1.2, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

8VAC115-10-30. Enforcement of parking meters.

In general, campus parking meters are enforced 7 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Saturday. However, meters at Hunt Hall are enforced from 7:30 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Saturday, and those at Swem Library are enforced seven days a week, 24 hours a day. Multiple citations may be issued at meters.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 1.3, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

8VAC115-10-40. Payment of fines.

A. Tickets paid within 10 working days of the date of the ticket will be reduced by $5.00.

B. Payment for fines for wheellocked vehicles may be paid by check or credit card.

C. Visitors to the college, who receive a No Decal violation, are not required to pay their first three No Decal violations. However, after three such violations, subsequent violations shall be paid.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 1.4, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

8VAC115-10-50. Faculty/staff lots.

A. Evening students may park in any faculty/staff (except the Jones Lot - Lot R), resident or day space after 4 p.m. This option is available to other students after 5 p.m.

B. Jones Lot is reserved 24 hours a day, seven days a week for faculty/staff only.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 1.5, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

8VAC115-10-60. Miscellaneous provisions.

A. It is a violation to purchase and distribute additional decals to other individuals or transfer or exchange decals for use on other vehicles. Such cases will be referred to the Dean of Students for appropriate action.

B. Parking in the Common Glory lot (Lot D) is prohibited unless there is a curb blocker at the space.

C. Individuals who are associated with the college and have handicapped tags shall also display a William and Mary parking decal.

D. Fees for parking decals are not refundable.

E. The use of hazard lights does not preclude the issuance of a citation if the vehicle is in violation of parking rules.

F. Temporary/Visitor Permits are available from Campus Police when the Parking Services office is not open.

G. When vehicle or license plate information changes, please notify the Office of Parking Services, ext.14764.

H. Enforcement of the faculty/staff designation at the PBK and Morton Hall lots runs from 7:30 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 1.6, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

Part II
Registration of Motor Vehicles

8VAC115-10-70. Registration of motor vehicles.

A. All motor vehicles, including motorcycles and motorbikes, parked on college property shall be registered with Parking Services located at 204 S. Boundary Street. Registration may also be accomplished at the Watermen's Hall Registration Desk for those individuals at the York River Campus. The operator of each vehicle will be issued an appropriate decal or permit. The purchase of a decal entitles individuals to park only in those areas designated for the respective decal. The purchase of a decal does not guarantee a parking space. Maps highlighting the major lots by type of decal for both the Williamsburg and York River Campuses are incorporated by reference and made a part of this chapter. Decals are effective for the school year which runs from August 16 through August 31 of the following calendar year. Temporary permits are issued as necessary for durations appropriate with their purpose.

B. Acceptance of a decal or permit by an individual attests to that person's complete understanding of the College of William and Mary Motor Vehicle Regulations and such person's responsibility to adhere to these regulations. Additionally, it is a violation to purchase additional decals for distribution to other individuals.

C. Registrants who misstate their classification category will be referred to the Dean of Students. When there is a change in (i) classification status of a registrant; or (ii) the purpose for which a decal or permit was issued; or (iii) the vehicle registration information, it shall be the sole responsibility of the registrant to notify Parking Services so that the decal or permit may be suitably altered.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 2.1, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

Part III
Registration, Eligibility and Classification

8VAC115-10-80. Classification of registrant.

Should registrants or Parking Services disagree as to proper classification, Parking Services may issue a 14-day temporary permit in favor of the registrant, who shall immediately file an appeal with the Traffic Appeals Board. The registrant is solely responsible for a clear statement of the situation in the appeal and for completing a permanent registration immediately upon receiving a decision from the Appeals Board.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 3.1, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

8VAC115-10-90. Categories of decals.

The categories of decals issued by the Parking Service office are listed below.

1. Faculty/Staff (blue). All faculty, administrative personnel, classified and hourly employees of the college are eligible to register motor vehicles and will be issued a blue decal. Students who work part-time for the college will have eligibility determined according to their student status.

2. Resident (yellow). All individuals classified as students by the Registrar of the college, who reside in college administered housing and have completed 54 semester hours (or 4 semesters), or students who reside at Dillard Complex and have completed the equivalent of two semesters, qualify as a resident and will be issued a yellow decal.

3. Day (green). Those individuals classified as students by the Registrar of the college who do not reside in college administered housing will receive a green decal upon registering a motor vehicle.

4. Evening (maroon). Students whose classes begin after 4 p.m., and who do not reside in college administered housing, qualify as an evening student and will be issued a maroon decal. After 4 p.m. they may park in any faculty/staff or student space unless otherwise posted. Evening students who have a frequent need to park on campus before 4 p.m. may purchase the Day (green) decal, as no provision is made for the Evening designation prior to 4 p.m. Evening students who have an occasional need to park on campus before 4 p.m. must obtain a temporary Day (green) permit, which allows parking in Day areas only.

5. Restricted use (red). Students otherwise ineligible to register a motor vehicle, who have obtained permission through the Traffic Appeals Board, will receive a restricted use red decal upon registration. The red decal allows parking only in the William and Mary Hall Lot. Application forms for this permission are available at Parking Services. Permission may be granted upon demonstration that a vehicle is indispensable for employment, essential to continuance at the college, for physical disability or for other college related needs. A student who brings a vehicle to the college without prior special permission is in violation of this chapter.

The William and Mary Hall Lot only permit is available to all college community members who are otherwise eligible. This permit is priced significantly lower than other permits for which individuals may be eligible.

6. General (gold). General decals, which are gold, are intended for Marriott employees, child care center employees and noncollege affiliated persons who volunteer at the college or have a frequent need to visit and use college facilities. The General decal allows parking in faculty/staff areas only.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 3.2, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

8VAC115-10-100. Temporary permits.

Temporary permits are available on a limited basis for a variety of needs. Examples include loading permits, car in for repairs or temporary handicaps. These permits are available from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m., Monday through Friday from Parking Services and all other times from the Campus Police. Permits for the employees at the York River Campus may be obtained from the registration desk in Watermen's Hall.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 3.3, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

8VAC115-10-110. Additional or replacement decals.

An additional or replacement decal may be purchased for $5.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 3.4, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

8VAC115-10-120. Motorcycle/motorbike.

Members of the college community shall register motorcycles and motorbikes. The decal will be issued in accordance with the status of the registrant.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 3.5, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

8VAC115-10-130. Lost/stolen decals.

If a decal is lost or stolen, it must be reported immediately to the Campus Police, and a new permit must be obtained from Parking Services. Without a proper decal or permit, a motor vehicle parked on college property is in violation of this chapter and is subject to ticketing, wheellocking or towing.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 3.6, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

8VAC115-10-140. Display of decals.

Vehicle registration is not complete until the permit or decal is properly displayed. Decals or permits displayed improperly will constitute an improper display violation. Decals shall be securely affixed to the left rear bumper or to the outside of the left rear windshield. Affixing the decal to the outside rear windshield facilitates removal at a later date.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 3.7, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

Part IV
Traffic Regulations

8VAC115-10-150. Enforcement.

A. The Campus Police are authorized to enforce moving violations which will be returnable in the respective district courts.

B. Barriers may be placed by the Campus Police at any point deemed necessary for specific temporary use - most often emplaced for safety reasons and traffic flow. Removal of any such barriers without permission, except for passage of emergency vehicles, is prohibited.

C. In all cases, the directions of a police officer supersede the regulations posted by sign or signal.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 4.1, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

8VAC115-10-160. Vehicles on sidewalks.

Riding, driving or parking any vehicle, other than emergency vehicles, on the sidewalks of the college is prohibited. Any other use is by special permission from the Campus Police or Parking Services.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 4.2, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

8VAC115-10-170. Applicability of Part IV.

8VAC115-20-150 and 8VAC115-20-160 apply equally to any person parking or operating a motor vehicle on college property.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 4.3, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

Part V
Parking Regulations

Article 1
General Provisions

8VAC115-10-180. Decal or permit required; exceptions.

A decal or permit is required to park on college property 24 hours a day, seven days a week, except in metered or timed spaces. Anyone may park in metered spaces and must pay the meter as posted.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 5.1, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

8VAC115-10-190. Parking/no parking designations.

A. Signs have been posted to designate the following parking areas which are enforced between 7:30 a.m. and 5 p.m., Monday through Friday, except for the regulation regarding evening students as set out in subdivision 4 of 8VAC115-20-90:

Visitors

Faculty/Staff

Day

Resident

Time Limit spaces

B. The following designations are reserved and enforced 24 hours a day, seven days a week:

Firelanes

No Parking zones

Handicapped spaces

Reserved For spaces

Official Vehicle spaces

Service/Vendor spaces

Jones Hall Lot

Meters at Hunt Circle and Swem Library

C. "No Parking" signs indicate an emergency lane, and no parking is permitted day or night. Parking in any portion of a No Parking zone for any length of time is a violation of this chapter.

D. Spaces reserved for Service or Vendor vehicles may only be used by vehicles displaying Service or Vendor permits issued by Parking Services. Employees of the college who have Service or Vendor permits must also have a William and Mary parking permit if they are using their personal vehicle and parking in a Service or Vendor space.

E. Parking space designation as to faculty, staff, and students will be observed when the college is in session. Parking space designations will not be observed during holidays posted in the college catalog, unless otherwise posted. All other traffic and parking regulations will be enforced throughout the calendar year. Students in doubt should contact Parking Services, ext. 14764.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 5.2, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

8VAC115-10-200. Vacating certain lots.

A. The Cary Field/Bryan Lot, the University Center Lot, the Post Office Lot and the pull-in spaces at the rear of St. Bede's Church adjacent to College Terrace must be vacated by 8 a.m. on the Saturdays of home football games. Vehicles in violation may be towed at owner's expense.

B. The University Center Lot and the parking along the stadium wall shall be vacated the Friday and Saturday of the Colonial Relays. This is generally the first weekend in April of each year. Vehicles in violation may be towed at owner's expense.

C. Brooks Street around William and Mary Hall shall be vacated by 4 p.m. on the days of home basketball games. Vehicles in violation may be towed at owner's expense.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 5.2, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

8VAC115-10-210. Parking on grass.

Under no circumstances may any motor vehicle, other than police or emergency vehicles, be operated or parked at any time on the walkways, landscape, grass, or areas designated for grass, without a permit from Parking Services or Campus Police.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 5.3, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

8VAC115-10-220. Special events.

Special events such as convocations and home athletic events require many parking spaces on the campus to be reserved. Whenever possible, three days notice will be given to the college community so alternate parking plans can be made. Members of the college community should be alert to posted notices because vehicles in violation may be towed at owner's expense.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 5.4, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

8VAC115-10-230. Motorcycles.

Parking or storing motorcycles or motorbikes inside a building or in or near an entrance way is prohibited. In order to comply with state regulations and to preclude possible fire hazards, motorcycles and motorbikes will be ticketed and removed at the owner's expense when so parked. Cycle owners are asked to make use of the motorcycle parking spaces throughout campus.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 5.5, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

8VAC115-10-240. Double parking.

Double parking is never permitted.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 5.6, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

8VAC115-10-250. Bumper blocks.

Bumper blocks, if present, establish parking spaces. This is especially true in Common Glory (Lot D) where parking is only permitted at bumper blocks.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 5.7, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

8VAC115-10-260. Disabled vehicles.

The driver of any disabled vehicle is subject to ticketing. If the vehicle cannot be removed immediately, the driver should notify the Campus Police or Parking Services at once and take steps to remove it without delay. A note left on a disabled vehicle does not preclude ticketing.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 5.8, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

8VAC115-10-270. Handicapped parking.

Parking in spaces designated as "Handicapped Parking" is limited exclusively for that purpose. Vehicles parked in these spaces without proper authorization may be towed at the owner's expense. Members of the college community who have handicap permits shall also display a current decal or permit.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 5.9, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

Article 2
York River Campus Parking

8VAC115-10-280. Parking by permit only.

Parking at the York River Campus is by permit only. All employees are entitled to park in any nonreserved space. Provisions for handicapped parking are set out in 8VAC115-20-320, and visitor parking is set out in 8VAC115-20-330.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 5.10, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

Article 3
Williamsburg Campus Parking

8VAC115-10-290. Faculty/staff parking.

Members of the faculty and staff are expected to observe the parking regulations and are encouraged not to drive their vehicles point-to point on campus. Faculty and staff are expected to park only in faculty and staff areas.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 5.11, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

8VAC115-10-300. Day student parking.

Students having Day decals may park only in areas designated as day parking.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 5.12, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

8VAC115-10-310. Resident student parking.

Resident students may park only in resident areas. Resident students are encouraged to abstain from driving to class to help reduce parking congestion and to afford other residents across campus availability to resident spaces. As an exception, Dillard and the Graduate Student Complex residents may park in the Common Glory Lot (Lot D) and other resident designated areas provided they have current resident and Dillard decals.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 5.13, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

8VAC115-10-320. Handicapped parking.

Permanent handicap license plates or placards may be obtained from the Department of Motor Vehicles. Faculty and staff members requiring temporary handicapped parking may make application through the Affirmative Action Office (College Apt #3). Students requiring temporary handicapped parking may make application through the Office of the Dean of Students (James Blair 102) and employees at the York River Campus should contact the Manager of Administrative Services (Watermen's Hall). Vehicles displaying appropriate handicap plates or placards may park in any handicapped, faculty/staff or student space. Those individuals affiliated with the college who have handicapped parking permission must also display a William and Mary parking decal.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 5.14, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

8VAC115-10-330. Visitor parking.

Visitor spaces are provided only for individuals outside the college community who have legitimate business on campus. No vehicle which has, or should have, a decal or permit is considered a visitor. Spaces reserved for "Visitors To" are intended for noncollege affiliated individuals only. Permits to use these spaces may be obtained from the respective office visited.

Visitors with visitor permits may park in any faculty/staff, student or visitor space. Visitor permits are not valid at metered spaces. Members of both campuses who have visitors coming to the campus should contact Parking Services for appropriate permits.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 5.15, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

8VAC115-10-340. Metered spaces.

Metered spaces are intended for high turn over, high demand areas. Anyone may park at a meter, and everyone must pay. Meters are enforced from 7:30 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Saturday, except for the Swem Library and Hunt Circle meters which are enforced 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. It is a violation to park in a metered space when the violation flag is visible. Multiple citations may be issued at meters.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 5.16, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

Part VI
Enforcement

8VAC115-10-350. Enforcement authority.

Campus Police will enforce all appropriate provisions of the motor vehicle laws described in the Code of Virginia, the City of Williamsburg Traffic Regulations and the Motor Vehicle Regulations of the College of William and Mary. Parking Services will enforce the Motor Vehicle Regulations of the College of William and Mary.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 6.1, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

8VAC115-10-360. Additional citations for same violation.

After the first citation for violation of a motor vehicle regulation, any vehicle which remains in violation of the same regulation is subject to additional citations.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 6.2, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

8VAC115-10-370. Consistency of enforcement.

Every attempt will be made to maintain consistency of enforcement. Lack of space in the immediate proximity to a building or observation that others have parked in violation of the regulations will not be considered a valid excuse for violating any regulation. Hazard lights do not exempt a vehicle from ticketing if they are in violation of a parking rule.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 6.3, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

8VAC115-10-380. Responsibility for violation.

The person in whose name a parking decal or permit is issued will be held responsible for any violation involving the vehicle. Citations are not excused on the plea that another person was driving at the time the citation was issued.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 6.4, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

8VAC115-10-390. Removal of vehicle.

Campus Police and Parking Services are authorized to remove, at the owner's expense, any vehicle which is in violation of this chapter. This includes towing or wheellocking.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 6.5, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

8VAC115-10-400. Payment of fines.

A. Citation fines must be paid or appealed within 10 working days from the date the ticket is issued.

B. The owner or operator of a wheellocked vehicle must pay any outstanding fines and the additional wheellock fee ($20) before the wheellock will be removed. Unauthorized removal or tampering with a wheellock may result in criminal prosecution. Vehicles wheellocked in excess of 48 hours will be towed to a private, licensed garage, and held until the owner presents a paid receipt from the college for outstanding fines, proof of ownership of the vehicle and payment of the towing fee. In addition, the garage may also charge a storage fee.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 6.6, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

8VAC115-10-410. Schedule of fines; payment policy.

A. Schedule of fines.

Violation

If Paid Within
10 Working Days

If Paid After
10 Working Days

No Valid Decal

$25

$30

Handicapped Space

$25

$30

Towed - Special Event

$25

$30

Illegal Parking:

Firelane

$10

$15

Reserved Space

$10

$15

Expired Meter

$10

$15

No Parking Zone

$10

$15

Vendor's Space

$10

$15

Improper Display

$10

$15

Overtime

$10

$15

Visitor's Space

$10

$15

Sidewalk/Crosswalk/Grass

$10

$15

Improper Parking/Other

$10

$15

B. The following policy establishes the accepted payment methods for outstanding parking fines:

1. Payment may be made by cash, personal check, cashier's check, money order, credit card (VISA or Master Card only) or William and Mary debit card.

2. Owners of vehicles that have been towed must pay all outstanding fines and fees using payment methods described in item 1 above. Additionally, the owner must pay the towing contractor the towing fee and any storage fees. If payment is made at Campus Police, they can accept forms of payment mentioned in item 1, with the exception of the William and Mary debit card.

3. Employees at the York River Campus may mail checks, money orders or cashier's checks to the Office of Parking Services. Checks should be made payable to the College of William and Mary. Alternatively, they may use the courier provided by Administrative Services.

C. Wheellock policy.

Vehicle owners with a vehicle that is wheellocked must pay all outstanding fines, plus a $20 wheellock fee, within 48 hours of the wheellock. Acceptable payment methods are as described in B 1 of this section, with the exception that the debit card may only be used when paying at Parking Services from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m., Monday through Friday. Vehicles wheellocked in excess of 48 hours will be towed to a private, licensed garage. Vehicles generally become eligible for wheellock when there are three or more outstanding tickets which have not been paid or appealed within 14 days of the date of the ticket. Vehicles with two tickets which have not been paid within 30 days of the date of the ticket are also eligible for wheellock.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 6.7, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

8VAC115-10-420. Appeals.

A. Campus parking citations are treated as minor infractions of college regulations with the right of appeal as stated in the Student Handbook. The operation of a motor vehicle on the campus constitutes implied consent for college parking violations to be handled through written appeals made to the Traffic Appeals Board. The Traffic Appeals Board is, by Presidential appointment, the highest authority on campus in parking matters and consists of members from all college constituencies.

B. The board does not look favorably upon the following appeals:

No decal/failure to buy additional decal

No spaces available

Bad weather/didn't want to walk

Usually park off campus

Didn't have time to get a decal

Someone else driving my vehicle

Residents parked in day spaces

Day students parked in resident spaces

Students in faculty/staff spaces

Nonpayment of past due fines may not entitle students to register for and attend classes.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 6.8, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

8VAC115-10-430. Revocation.

A maximum of five citations which have been paid are permitted within the decal year without additional punitive action. On receipt of the sixth citation during the decal year, in addition to the fine, the offender's registration is subject to revocation and the individual may be prohibited from parking a vehicle on campus for the year, unless reinstated.

Reinstatement of motor vehicle registration rights which have been revoked for any reason, can be granted by the Traffic Appeals Board upon direct written application by the offender to the committee.

If decals or permits are revoked, no refunds shall be made.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 6.9, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

FORMS (8VAC115-10).

College of William and Mary Parking Registration Form.

Request for Restricted-Use Vehicle.

College of William and Mary Traffic Citation Appeal.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.