Administrative Code

Virginia Administrative Code
4/22/2024

Part I. General Provisions

8VAC115-10-10. Decals.

A. Decals shall be permanently affixed to the left rear bumper or on the outside of the left rear windshield. No parking decal may be taped inside the vehicle.

B. The Parking Services office will recognize an official grace period in August of each school year for "No Decal" violations. For the Fall 1993 session, the grace period extends through August 31, 1993. During the grace period, only "No Decal" violations will be waived. Parking enforcement officers will continue to cite all other violations during the grace period. Student vehicles that are parked in faculty/staff spaces during the grace period will receive a citation for Reserved Space.

C. The costs of decals vary to accommodate various categories of students and are adjusted at different times of the year. The following rates apply:

Category

Aug 95

Jan 96

Apr 96

Faculty/Staff/Student

$52.00

$31.00

$21.00

Non-College Affiliated

$52.00

$31.00

$21.00

Hourly/Part-time Employee

$26.00

$26.00

$21.00

Evening Student

$26.00

$26.00

$21.00

William & Mary Hall Lot Only

$21.00

$21.00

$21.00

Motorcycle

$26.00

$26.00

$21.00

Additional Decal

$5.00

$5.00

$5.00

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 1.1, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

8VAC115-10-20. Temporary permits.

A. Temporary permits are available for periods not to exceed two weeks and cost $1.00 per week. After the two-week period has expired, a permanent decal must be purchased.

B. Temporary permits, at no charge and with a two-hour limit, are available for loading and unloading (two-hour limit), temporary handicaps, temporary plates and car repairs.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 1.2, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

8VAC115-10-30. Enforcement of parking meters.

In general, campus parking meters are enforced 7 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Saturday. However, meters at Hunt Hall are enforced from 7:30 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Saturday, and those at Swem Library are enforced seven days a week, 24 hours a day. Multiple citations may be issued at meters.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 1.3, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

8VAC115-10-40. Payment of fines.

A. Tickets paid within 10 working days of the date of the ticket will be reduced by $5.00.

B. Payment for fines for wheellocked vehicles may be paid by check or credit card.

C. Visitors to the college, who receive a No Decal violation, are not required to pay their first three No Decal violations. However, after three such violations, subsequent violations shall be paid.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 1.4, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

8VAC115-10-50. Faculty/staff lots.

A. Evening students may park in any faculty/staff (except the Jones Lot - Lot R), resident or day space after 4 p.m. This option is available to other students after 5 p.m.

B. Jones Lot is reserved 24 hours a day, seven days a week for faculty/staff only.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 1.5, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

8VAC115-10-60. Miscellaneous provisions.

A. It is a violation to purchase and distribute additional decals to other individuals or transfer or exchange decals for use on other vehicles. Such cases will be referred to the Dean of Students for appropriate action.

B. Parking in the Common Glory lot (Lot D) is prohibited unless there is a curb blocker at the space.

C. Individuals who are associated with the college and have handicapped tags shall also display a William and Mary parking decal.

D. Fees for parking decals are not refundable.

E. The use of hazard lights does not preclude the issuance of a citation if the vehicle is in violation of parking rules.

F. Temporary/Visitor Permits are available from Campus Police when the Parking Services office is not open.

G. When vehicle or license plate information changes, please notify the Office of Parking Services, ext.14764.

H. Enforcement of the faculty/staff designation at the PBK and Morton Hall lots runs from 7:30 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 1.6, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.