Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 55. Property and Conveyances [Repealed Effective October 1, 2019]
Chapter 13. Landlord and Tenant

§ 55-222. (Repealed effective October 1, 2019) Notice to terminate a tenancy in nonresidential premises; notice of change in use of multifamily residential building.

A. A tenancy in a nonresidential premises from year to year may be terminated by either party giving three months' notice, in writing, prior to the end of any year of the tenancy, of his intention to terminate the same. A tenancy from month to month may be terminated by either party giving 30 days' notice in writing, prior to the next rent due date, of his intention to terminate the same, unless the rental agreement provides for a different notice period. Written notice of termination shall be given in accordance with this chapter or the lease agreement.

B. In addition to the termination rights set forth in subsection A, and notwithstanding the terms of the lease, the landlord may terminate a lease agreement in a multifamily residential building due to rehabilitation or a change in the use of all or any part of such building that contains at least four residential units, upon 120 days' prior written notice to the tenant. Changes in use shall include but not be limited to conversion to hotel, motel, apartment hotel or other commercial use, planned unit development, substantial rehabilitation, demolition or sale to a contract purchaser requiring an empty building. This 120-day notice requirement shall not be waived except in the case of a tenancy from month to month, which may be terminated by the landlord by giving the tenant 30 days' written notice prior to the next rent due date of the landlord's intention to terminate the tenancy.

The written notice required by this section to terminate a tenancy shall not be contained in the rental agreement or lease, but shall be a separate writing.

Code 1919, § 5516; 1981, c. 155; 1986, c. 428; 1987, c. 473; 2004, c. 123; 2007, c. 634; 2013, c. 563; 2015, c. 596; 2017, c. 730; 2018, c. 221.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.