Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 11. Gaming
Agency 10. Virginia Racing Commission
Chapter 100. Horses
3/29/2020

11VAC10-100-80. Certificate of Veterinary Inspection.

An official test for equine infectious anemia is required and must be conducted by a laboratory approved by the United States Department of Agriculture for each horse within the enclosure. The following provisions shall apply:

1. Horses entering the Commonwealth of Virginia must be accompanied by an official Certificate of Veterinary Inspection signed by an accredited veterinarian. This certificate shall give an accurate description of each horse;

2. The Certificate of Veterinary Inspection shall indicate that each horse has been officially tested and found negative for equine infectious anemia within the past 12 months. The test must be valid to cover the time the horse is expected to be within the enclosure;

3. Horses originating in the Commonwealth of Virginia must be accompanied by a report of an official negative test for equine infectious anemia conducted within the past 12 months. The test must be valid to cover the time the horse is expected to be within the enclosure;

4. For the purposes of this regulation, an "approved laboratory" means a laboratory approved by the Deputy Administrator, Veterinary Services, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture;

5. For the purposes of this regulation, an "accredited veterinarian" means a veterinarian approved by the Deputy Administrator to perform functions required by cooperative state-federal disease control and eradication programs;

6. The Certificate of Veterinary Inspection or report of an official negative test shall be attached to the health certificate, certificate of foal registration, eligibility certificate or other registration document; and

7. The primary responsibility for the presentation of the foregoing documents shall rest with the owner of the horse or his trainer or authorized agent.

Statutory Authority

§ 59.1-369 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR662-04-01 § 8, eff. September 26, 1991; amended, Volume 18, Issue 23, eff. July 1, 2002.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.