Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 11. Gaming
Agency 10. Virginia Racing Commission
Chapter 180. Medication
2/25/2020

11VAC10-180-90. Bicarbonate Testing.

A. Generally. By this regulation, the Virginia Racing Commission prohibits the feeding or administration to a horse on race day of any bicarbonate-containing substance or other alkalinizing substance that effectively alters the serum or plasma pH or concentration of bicarbonates or carbon dioxide in the horse.

B. Test values. A serum or plasma total carbon dioxide level exceeding 37.0 millimoles per liter constitutes a positive test.

C. Testing procedure. The stewards or commission veterinarian may, at their discretion and at any time, order the collection of test samples from any horses present within the enclosure for determination of serum or plasma pH or concentration of bicarbonate, carbon dioxide, or electrolytes. Preracing testing or post-race testing may be done at a time and manner directed by the commission veterinarian. Whether prerace or post-race, the sample shall consist of at least two blood tubes taken from the horse to determine the serum total carbon dioxide concentration. If the chief racing chemist finds that the total carbon dioxide levels in the tubes exceed the standard test values of 37.0 millimoles per liter, then he shall inform the stewards of the positive test results.

D. Split samples prohibited. The procedures for split sample testing shall not apply to bicarbonate testing procedures.

E. Disciplinary actions. The stewards shall, absent mitigating circumstances specifically noted in their findings, impose the following disciplinary action for violation of this section:

1. First offense: $2,500 fine and 90-day suspension; loss of purse.

2. Second offense: $5,000 fine and 180-day suspension; loss of purse.

3. Third offense: Revocation of license.

The stewards also may refer the case to the commission for further disciplinary action.

Statutory Authority

§ 59.1-369 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Volume 12, Issue 24, eff. September 18, 1996; amended, Virginia Register Volume 14, Issue 22, eff. August 20, 1998; Volume 18, Issue 19, eff. May 10, 2002; Volume 21, Issue 16, eff. March 31, 2003; Volume 21, Issue 16, eff. May 18, 2005; Volume 26, Issue 19, eff. May 29, 2010; Volume 29, Issue 13, eff. March 1, 2013; Volume 31, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 2015.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.