Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 11. Gaming
Agency 5. Virginia Lottery Board
Chapter 70. Sports Betting
3/4/2024

11VAC5-70-90. Sports betting employee applications.

A. Any individual not holding a valid sports betting employee license issued by the director may not be employed by a permit holder or sports betting supplier to work within the borders of the Commonwealth as a sports betting employee.

B. The director may issue a sports betting employee license to an individual upon:

1. Payment of all required application/license and background investigation fees;

2. Submission of a completed license application to the director;

3. Disclosure of all personal and background information and other information required by department staff;

4. Signed consent for investigation required under this chapter;

5. Unless exempt, issuance of any applicable bond required under this chapter;

6. Receipt of at least a conditional offer of employment as a sports betting employee from a permit holder or sports betting supplier that has:

a. Obtained a bond if required under this chapter; and

b. Performed, at a minimum, criminal, credit, and tax checks, employment verification, and a national database search;

7. Provided confirmation that within the 365 days before the application is submitted, the applicant has not served as a Virginia Lottery Board member or been employed by the department; and

8. Provided the director with sufficient information, documentation, and assurances to establish by clear and convincing evidence that the individual (i) meets the applicable requirements of the laws of Virginia and this chapter and (ii) is otherwise qualified for a sports betting employee license.

C. The application/license fee and background investigation fee for a sports betting employee license or renewal is $500.

D. A licensed sports betting employee may not wager on a sports event at or receive winnings from a permit holder where the individual is employed or that is operated by the individual's employer, or where the individual is currently assigned to work.

E. A licensee has a continuing duty to inform the director of any act or omission the licensee knows or should know constitutes a violation of the Code of Virginia or this chapter.

F. Term and renewal.

1. The term of a sports betting employee license is three years from the date of initial licensure.

2. Except in the case of a temporary license, the director may renew the sports betting license if 60 days before the term of the license expires, the licensee:

a. Applies for renewal in the format required by the department;

b. Continues to demonstrate compliance with all licensing requirements;

c. Maintains employment as a sports betting employee;

d. Submits to a background investigation under this chapter; and

e. Pays the fees for licensure and backgrounding as described in this section.

Statutory Authority

§§ 58.1-4007, 58.1-4015.1, and 58.1-4030 through 58.1-4047 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 37, Issue 4, eff. October 12, 2020.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.