Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 12. Health
Agency 30. Department of Medical Assistance Services
Chapter 70. Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates; In-Patient Hospital Care
8/19/2022

12VAC30-70-60. Establishment of reasonable and adequate payment rates; cost reporting.

In accordance with Title 42 §§ 447.250 through 447.272 of the Code of Federal Regulations which implements § 1902(a)(13)(A) of the Social Security Act, the Department of Medical Assistance Services ("DMAS") establishes payment rates for services that are reasonable and adequate to meet the costs that must be incurred by efficiently and economically operated facilities to provide services in conformity with state and federal laws, regulations, and quality and safety standards. To establish these rates Virginia uses the Medicare principles of cost reimbursement in determining the allowable costs for Virginia's prospective payment system. Allowable costs will be determined from the filing of a uniform cost report by participating providers. The cost reports are due not later than 90 days after the provider's fiscal year end. If a complete cost report is not received within 90 days after the end of the provider's fiscal year, the Program shall take action in accordance with its policies to assure that an overpayment is not being made. The cost report will be judged complete when DMAS has all of the following:

1. Completed cost reporting form(s) provided by DMAS, with signed certification(s);

2. The provider's trial balance showing adjusting journal entries;

3. The provider's financial statements including, but not limited to, a balance sheet, a statement of income and expenses, a statement of retained earnings (or fund balance), a statement of charges in financial position, and footnotes to the financial statements;

4. Schedules which reconcile financial statements and trial balance to expenses claimed in the cost report;

5. Home office cost report, if applicable; and

6. Such other analytical information or supporting documents requested by DMAS when the cost reporting forms are sent to the provider.

Although utilizing the cost apportionment and cost finding methods of the Medicare Program, Virginia does not adopt the prospective payment system of the Medicare Program enacted October 1, 1983.

Statutory Authority

Social Security Act Title XIX; 42 CFR Part 430 to end; all other applicable statutory and regulatory sections.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR460-02-4.1910, §VI, Volume 4, Issue 22, eff. September 1, 1988.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.