Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 12. Health
Agency 35. Department of Behavioral Health And Developmental Services
Chapter 105. Rules and Regulations for Licensing Providers by the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services
4/25/2024

12VAC35-105-1690. Substance abuse partial hospitalization services Level of care 2.5 program criteria.

A substance abuse partial hospitalization program shall meet the following programmatic requirements. The program shall:

1. Offer no fewer than 20 hours of skilled treatment services per week in a structured program. Services may include individual and group counseling, medication management, family therapy, peer recovery support services, educational groups, or occupational and recreational therapy;

2. Provide a combination of individual and group therapy as deemed appropriate by a licensed professional and included in an assessment and treatment plan;

3. Provide medical and nursing services as deemed appropriate by a licensed professional and included in an assessment and treatment plan;

4. Provide motivational enhancement and engagement strategies appropriate to an individual's stage of readiness to change and level of comprehension;

5. Have direct affiliations with other easily accessible levels of care or coordinate through referral to more or less intensive levels of care and other services;

6. Provide family and caregiver treatment services as deemed appropriate by a licensed professional and included in an assessment and treatment plan;

7. Provide educational and informational programming adaptable to individual needs;

8. Ensure and document that the length of service shall be determined by the individual's condition and functioning;

9. Make emergency services available by telephone 24 hours a day, seven days a week when the program is not in session; and

10. Make MAT available for all individuals with opioid use disorder or alcohol use disorder. MAT may be provided by facility staff or coordinated through alternative resources.

Statutory Authority

§§ 37.2-302 and 37.2-400 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 39, Issue 11, eff. February 17, 2023.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.