Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 12. Health
Agency 35. Department of Behavioral Health And Developmental Services
Chapter 105. Rules and Regulations for Licensing Providers by the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services

12VAC35-105-1740. Substance abuse intensive outpatient services Level of care 2.1 program criteria.

A substance abuse intensive outpatient services program shall meet the following programmatic requirements. The program shall:

1. Offer a minimum of three service hours per service day to achieve no fewer than nine hours and no more than 19 hours of programming per week in a structured environment;

2. Ensure psychiatric and other medical consultation shall be available within 24 hours by telephone and within 72 hours in person;

3. Offer consultation in case of emergency related to an individual's substance use disorder by telephone 24 hours a day, seven days a week when the treatment program is not in session;

4. Provide a combination of individual and group therapy as deemed appropriate by a licensed professional and included in an assessment and treatment plan;

5. Have direct affiliations with other easily accessible levels of care or coordinate through referral to more or less intensive levels of care and other services;

6. Provide family and caregiver treatment and peer recovery support services as deemed appropriate by a licensed professional and included in an assessment and treatment plan;

7. Provide education and informational programming adaptable to individual needs and developmental status;

8. Ensure and document that the length of service shall be determined by the individual's condition and functioning; and

9. Make MAT available for all individuals with opioid use disorder and alcohol use disorder. MAT may be provided by facility staff or coordinated through alternative resources.

Statutory Authority

§§ 37.2-302 and 37.2-400 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 39, Issue 11, eff. February 17, 2023.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.