Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 12. Health
Agency 35. Department Of Behavioral Health And Developmental Services
Chapter 105. Rules and Regulations for Licensing Providers by the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services
4/14/2021

12VAC35-105-950. Service operation schedule.

A. The service's days of operation shall meet the needs of the individuals served. If the service dispenses or administers a medication requiring daily dosing, the service shall operate seven days a week, 12 months a year, except for official state holidays. Prior approval from the state methadone authority shall be required for additional closed days.

B. The service may close on Sundays if the following criteria are met:

1. The provider develops and implements policies and procedures that address recently inducted individuals receiving services, individuals not currently on a stable dose of medication, patients that present noncompliance treatment behaviors, and individuals who previously picked up take-home medications on Sundays, security of take-home medication doses, and health and safety of individuals receiving services.

2. The provider receives prior approval from the state methadone authority for Sunday closings.

3. Once approved, the provider shall notify individuals receiving services in writing at least 30 days in advance of their intent to close on Sundays. The notice shall address the risks to the individuals and the security of take-home medications. All individuals shall receive an orientation addressing take-home policies and procedures, and this orientation shall be documented in the individual's record prior to receiving take-home medications.

4. The provider shall establish procedures for emergency access to dosing information 24 hours a day, seven days a week. This information may be provided via an answering service, pager, or other electronic measures. Information needed includes the individual's last dosing time and date, and dose.

C. Medication dispensing hours shall include at least two hours each day of operation outside normal working hours, i.e., before 9 a.m. and after 5 p.m. The state methadone authority may approve an alternative schedule if that schedule meets the needs of the population served.

Statutory Authority

§ 37.2-203 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 18, Issue 18, eff. September 19, 2002; amended, Virginia Register Volume 28, Issue 5, eff. December 7, 2011.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.