Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 12. Health
Agency 5. Department of Health
Chapter 31. Virginia Emergency Medical Services Regulations
8/17/2022

12VAC5-31-1503. BLS course student requirements.

The enrolled student, certification candidate, or EMS provider must comply with the following:

1. Be proficient in reading, writing and speaking the English language in order to clearly communicate with a patient, family, or bystander to determine a chief complaint, nature of illness or, mechanism of injury; assess signs and symptoms; and interpret protocols.

2. Be a minimum of 16 years of age at the beginning date of the certification program. If less than 18 years of age, the student must provide the EMT instructor or the EMS educational coordinator with a completed parental permission form as approved by the Office of EMS with the signature of a parent or guardian supporting enrollment in the course.

3. Have no physical or mental impairment that would render the student or provider unable to perform all practical skills required for that level of certification including the ability to function and communicate independently and perform patient care, physical assessments, and treatments.

4. Hold current certification in an approved course in cardio-pulmonary resuscitation (CPR) at the beginning date of the certification program. This certification must also be current at the time of state testing.

5. If in a bridge certification program, the student must hold current Virginia certification at the EMS First Responder level through completion of the certification examination process.

Statutory Authority

§§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-111.4 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 29, Issue 1, eff. October 10, 2012.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.