Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 12. Health
Agency 5. Department of Health
Chapter 31. Virginia Emergency Medical Services Regulations
8/8/2022

12VAC5-31-2560. Enforcement actions.

An enforcement action must be delivered to the agent of the affected designated regional EMS council and must specify information concerning the violations, the actions required to correct the violations and the specific date by which correction must be made as follows:

1. Warning: a verbal notification of an action or situation potentially in violation of these regulations.

2. Citation: a written notification for violations of these regulations.

3. Suspension: a written notification of the deactivation and removal of authorization issued under a designation.

4. Civil penalty: The commissioner (or designee) may impose a civil penalty to an agency or entity that fails or refuses compliance with these regulations. Civil penalties may be assessed up to $1,000 per offense. Violations shall be a single, different occurrence for each calendar day the violation occurs and remains uncorrected.

a. Subsequent violations of the same type may be subject to a civil penalty of $500 per calendar day, per violation.

b. Civil penalties will not exceed a combined total of $10,000.

5. Action of the commissioner: the commissioner may command a designated regional EMS council operating in violation of these regulations or state law pursuant to the commissioner's authority under § 32.1-27 of the Code of Virginia and the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) to halt such operation or to comply with applicable law or regulation. A separate and distinct offense will be deemed to have been committed on each day during which any prohibited act continues after written notice to the offender.

6. Criminal enforcement: the commissioner may elect to enforce any part of these regulations or any provision of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia by seeking to have criminal sanctions imposed as authorized by § 32.1-27 of the Code of Virginia. A separate and distinct offense will be deemed to have been committed on each day during which any prohibited act continues after written notice by the commissioner to the offender.

Statutory Authority

§§ 32.1-12, 32.1-111.4, and 32.1-111.11 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 24, Issue 6, eff. January 1, 2008.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.