Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 12. Health
Agency 5. Department of Health
Chapter 381. Regulations for the Licensure of Home Care Organizations
9/21/2020

12VAC5-381-40. License Application; Initial and Renewal.

A. The OLC provides prelicensure consultation and technical assistance regarding the licensure process. The purpose of such consultation is to explain the regulation and the survey process. Prelicensure consultations are arranged after a completed initial application is on file with the OLC.

B. Licensure applications are obtained from the OLC. The OLC shall consider an application complete when all requested information and the appropriate fee, stated in 12VAC5-381-70, is submitted. If the OLC finds the application incomplete, the applicant will be notified in writing.

C. The activities and services of each applicant and licensee shall be subject to an inspection by the OLC to determine if the organization is in compliance with the provisions of this chapter and state law.

D. A completed application for initial licensure must be submitted at least 60 days prior to the organization's planned opening date to allow the OLC time to process the application. An incomplete application shall become inactive six months after it is received by the OLC. Applicants must then reapply for licensure with a completed application and application fee. An application for a license may be withdrawn at any time.

E. Licenses are renewed annually. The OLC shall make renewal applications available at least 60 days prior to the expiration date of the current license.

F. It is the home care organization's responsibility to complete and return a renewal application to assure timely processing. Should a current license expire before a new license is issued, the current license shall remain in effect provided a complete and accurate application was filed on time.

Statutory Authority

§§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-162.12 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Volume 22, Issue 03, eff. January 1, 2006; amended, Virginia Register Volume 24, Issue 11, eff. March 5, 2008.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.