Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 12. Health
Agency 5. Department of Health
Chapter 450. Rules and Regulations Governing Campgrounds

12VAC5-450-40. Permits.

A. No person, directly or indirectly, shall conduct, control, manage, operate, or maintain a campground, within the Commonwealth, without first making application for and receiving a valid permit from the Health Commissioner for the operation of the campground.

B. An authorized representative of a campground shall file an application for a permit with the local health department in a manner prescribed by the Health Commissioner at least 30 days before such camp is to be opened.

C. If, after receipt of an application to operate a campground, the Health Commissioner finds the campground does not comply with this chapter, the Health Commissioner shall notify the applicant in writing (i) citing the noncomplying items that constitute the reasons for denying a permit and (ii) providing the applicant with the opportunity for administrative process as provided by the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).

D. If the Health Commissioner finds that the campground complies with this chapter, a permit shall be issued. Permits may be issued to the campground's owner or operator.

E. The permit shall be conspicuously posted in the office of the campground or on the premises if no office is available.

F. Permits shall either be (i) annual and shall expire 12 months from the date of issuance or (ii) temporary and granted for a specific period of time to allow temporary camping of 14 days duration or less. Temporary permits may be valid for periods of 60 days or less, but the total days of operation may not exceed 14 days during any 60-day period. Permits shall not be transferable.

Statutory Authority

§§ 35.1-11 and 35.1-17 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR355-35-04 § 1, eff. July 21, 1971; amended, Virginia Register Volume 35, Issue 5, eff. November 28, 2018.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.