Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 12. Health
Agency 5. Department of Health
Chapter 610. Sewage Handling and Disposal Regulations

12VAC5-610-255. Certification letters.

A. An applicant for a sewage disposal system who does not intend to build within 18 months of application shall apply for a certification letter. The process shall be the same as for a system application made in accordance with 12VAC5-610-250. The fees charged for a certification letter shall be the same as prescribed in § 32.1-164 C of the Code of Virginia.

B. Certification letters indicate that a site is suitable for an onsite sewage treatment and disposal system and do not need to indicate the type of system for which the site is suitable.

C. Certification letters do not expire and shall convey with the land in the event the property is sold between the time the certification letter is issued and a construction permit is requested.

D. Certification letters may be converted to a construction permit by making application to the local health department in accordance with 12VAC5-610-250 and paying any required fees. Note, however, no additional fee shall be charged when a certification letter is converted to a construction permit within 18 months of the date the letter was issued.

E. Formal plans and specifications are not required in order to obtain a certification letter unless said plans and specifications are necessary to determine the appropriateness of a site for a sewage disposal system. Depending upon the type and complexity of the system to be permitted, formal plans and specifications may be required.

F. Certification letters shall be issued only for conventionally approved systems. Certification letters shall not be issued for experimental or provisionally approved systems because there is no assurance that said system will successfully complete the required testing and demonstration and, hence, may not be available when the property owner wishes to convert the letter to a construction permit. Further, no certification letter shall be issued for a conditional permit pursuant to 12VAC5-610-250 J.

Statutory Authority

§§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-164 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 16, Issue 16, eff. July 1, 2000.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.