Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 12. Health
Agency 5. Department of Health
Chapter 620. Regulations Governing Fees for Onsite Sewage Disposal Systems, Alternative Discharge Systems, and Private Wells
5/27/2020

12VAC5-620-70. Establishing Fees.

Part III
Fees

A. The commissioner shall establish a schedule of fees to be charged by the department for services related to construction, maintenance, and repair or replacement of onsite sewage disposal systems, alternative discharge systems, and private wells and for appeals before the Review Board.

B. In establishing fees, the commissioner shall consider the actual or estimated average cost to the agency of delivering each service included in the schedule of fees.

The following fee schedule is hereby established:

SCHEDULE OF FEES

Application or Service

Fee

Certification letter, no onsite soil evaluator/professional engineer (OSE/PE) documentation (no charge for well)

$350

Certification letter with OSE/PE documentation, ≤1,000 gpd

$320

Certification letter with OSE/PE documentation, >1,000 gpd

$1,400

Construction permit for treatment works only, no OSE/PE documentation

$425

Combined well and treatment works construction permit, no OSE/PE documentation

$725

Combined well and treatment works construction permit with OSE/PE documentation, ≤1,000 gpd

$525

Construction permit for treatment works only with OSE/PE documentation, ≤1,000 gpd

$225

Construction permit for treatment works only with OSE/PE documentation, >1,000 gpd

$1,400

Combined well and treatment works construction permit with OSE/PE documentation, >1,000 gpd

$1,700

Private well construction or abandonment permit, with or without OSE/PE documentation

$300

Closed-loop geothermal well system (one fee per well system)

$300

Alternative discharge system inspection fee

$75

Minor modification to an existing system

$100

Appeal before the Review Board

$135

Statutory Authority

§§ 32.1-12, 32.1-164, and 32.1-176.4 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR355-34-03 § 3.1, eff. July 1, 1989; amended, Volume 32, Issue 10, eff. February 12, 2016.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.