Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 12. Health
Agency 5. Department Of Health
Chapter 630. Private Well Regulations
1/16/2021

12VAC5-630-150. Enforcement of regulations.

A. Notice. Subject to the exceptions below, whenever the commissioner or the district or local health department has reason to believe a violation of any of this chapter has occurred or is occurring, the alleged violator shall be notified. Such notice shall be made in writing, shall be delivered personally or sent by certified mail, shall cite the regulation or regulations that are allegedly being violated, shall state the facts which form the basis for believing the violation has occurred or is occurring, shall include a request for a specific action by the recipient by a specified time and shall state the penalties associated with such violation. When the commissioner deems it necessary, he may initiate criminal prosecution or seek civil relief through mandamus or injunction prior to giving notice.

B. Orders. Pursuant to the authority granted in § 32.1-26 of the Code of Virginia, the commissioner may issue orders to require any owner, or other person, to comply with the provisions of this chapter. The order shall be signed by the commissioner and may require:

1. The immediate cessation and correction of the violation;

2. Appropriate remedial action to ensure that the violation does not recur;

3. The submission of a plan to prevent future violations to the commissioner for review and approval;

4. The submission of an application for a variance; or

5. Any other corrective action deemed necessary for proper compliance with the chapter.

C. Hearing before the issuance of an order. Before the issuance of an order described in 12VAC5-630-150, a hearing must be held, with at least 30 days notice by certified mail to the affected owner or other person of the time, place and purpose thereof, for the purpose of adjudicating the alleged violation or violations of this chapter. The procedures at the hearing shall be in accordance with 12VAC5-630-180 A or B of this chapter and with §§ 9-6.14:11 through 9-6.14:14 of the Code of Virginia.

D. Order; when effective. All orders issued pursuant to 12VAC5-630-150 shall become effective not less than 15 days after mailing a copy thereof by certified mail to the last known address of the owner or person violating this chapter. Violation of an order is a Class 1 misdemeanor. See § 32.1-27 of the Code of Virginia.

E. Compliance with effective orders. The commissioner may enforce all orders. Should any owner or other person fail to comply with any order, the commissioner may:

1. Apply to an appropriate court for an injunction or other legal process to prevent or stop any practice in violation of the order;

2. Commence administrative proceedings to suspend or revoke the construction permit;

3. Request the Attorney General to bring an action for civil penalty, injunction, or other appropriate remedy; or

4. Request the Commonwealth's Attorney to bring a criminal action.

F. Not exclusive means of enforcement. Nothing contained in 12VAC5-630-140 or 12VAC5-630-150 shall be interpreted to require the commissioner to issue an order prior to commencing administrative proceedings or seeking enforcement of any regulations or statute through an injunction, mandamus or criminal prosecution.

Statutory Authority

§§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-176 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR355-34-100 § 2.5, eff. April 1, 1992.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.