Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 16. Labor and Employment
Agency 25. Safety and Health Codes Board
Chapter 60. Administrative Regulation for the Virginia Occupational Safety and Health Program
9/29/2020

16VAC25-60-245. Use of Administrative Subpoenas to Take and Preserve Testimony, Examine Witnesses, and Administer Oaths.

A. Subdivision 4 of § 40.1-6 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the commissioner, in the discharge of his duties, to take and preserve testimony, examine witnesses and administer oaths. In accordance with subdivision 5 of § 40.1-6 of the Code of Virginia, the Commissioner of Labor and Industry may appoint such representatives as are necessary to carry out the functions outlined in subdivision 4 of § 40.1-6 of the Code of Virginia. Such appointments shall be made in writing; identify the individual being appointed, the length of appointment, and the method of withdrawal of such appointment; and specify what duties are being prescribed.

B. The oath shall be administered by the commissioner's appointed representative to the witness as follows: "Do you swear or affirm to tell the truth."

C. Testimony given under oath shall be recorded by a court reporter.

D. Questioning of employers, owners, operators, agents or employees under oath shall be in private in accordance with subdivision 2 of § 40.1-49.8 of the Code of Virginia.

E. An employer's refusal to make an owner, operator, agent or employee available to the commissioner for examination under this section shall be considered a refusal to consent to the commissioner's inspection authority under § 40.1-49.8 of the Code of Virginia. Upon such refusal the commissioner may seek an administrative search warrant in accordance with the provisions contained in §§ 40.1-49.9 through 40.1-49.12 of the Code of Virginia and obtain an order from the appropriate judge commanding the employer to make the subject owner, operator, agent or employee available for examination at a specified location by a date and time certain.

F. In accordance with § 40.1-10 of the Code of Virginia, if any person who may be sworn to give testimony shall willfully fail or refuse to answer any legal and proper question propounded to him concerning the subject of the examination under § 40.1-6 of the Code of Virginia, he shall be guilty of a misdemeanor. Such person, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not exceeding $100 nor less than $25 or imprisoned in jail not exceeding 90 days or both. Any such refusal on the part of any person to comply with this section may be referred by the Commissioner of Labor and Industry to the appropriate attorney for the Commonwealth for prosecution.

Statutory Authority

§§ 40.1-6 and 40.1-22 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Volume 29, Issue 05, eff. December 5, 2012; amended, Virginia Register Volume 34, Issue 06, eff. December 15, 2017.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.