Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 18. Professional And Occupational Licensing
Agency 112. Board of Physical Therapy
Chapter 20. Regulations Governing the Practice of Physical Therapy
7/2/2022

18VAC112-20-136. Reinstatement requirements.

A. A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant whose Virginia license is lapsed for two years or less may reinstate his license by payment of the renewal and late fees as set forth in 18VAC112-20-27 and completion of continued competency requirements as set forth in 18VAC112-20-131.

B. A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant whose Virginia license is lapsed for more than two years and who is seeking reinstatement shall:

1. Apply for reinstatement and pay the fee specified in 18VAC112-20-27;

2. Complete the number of continuing competency hours required for the period in which the license has been lapsed, not to exceed four years; and

3. Have actively practiced physical therapy in any jurisdiction in which the physical therapist or physical therapist assistant was licensed for active practice for at least 320 hours within the four years immediately preceding applying for reinstatement.

If a licensee does not meet the requirement for active practice, the license may be reinstated by completing 320 hours in a traineeship that meets the requirements prescribed in 18VAC112-20-140 .

Statutory Authority

§§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3474 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 19, Issue 1, eff. October 23, 2002; Volume 25, Issue 26, eff. September 30, 2009; Volume 29, Issue 21, eff. July 17, 2013; Volume 30, Issue 10, eff. February 27, 2014; Volume 34, Issue 10, eff. February 7, 2018; Volume 37, Issue 14, eff. April 30, 2021.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.