Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 18. Professional and Occupational Licensing
Agency 135. Real Estate Board
Chapter 50. Fair Housing Regulations
8/15/2020

18VAC135-50-210. Housing for Older Persons.

Nothing in the Virginia Fair Housing Law regarding unlawful discrimination because of familial status shall apply to housing for older persons. As used in this section, "housing for older persons" includes:

1. Housing provided under any state or federal program determined by the Secretary of Housing and Urban Development to be specifically designed and operated to assist elderly persons;

2. 62 or over housing. The provisions regarding familial status in these regulations shall not apply to housing intended for, and solely occupied by persons 62 years of age or older. Housing satisfies the requirements of this exemption even though:

a. There are persons residing in such housing on September 13, 1988, who are under 62 years of age, provided that all new occupants are persons 62 years of age or older;

b. There are unoccupied units, provided that such units are reserved for occupancy by persons 62 years of age or older;

c. There are units occupied by employees of the housing (and family members residing in the same unit) who are under 62 years of age provided they perform substantial duties directly related to the management or maintenance of the housing.

3. 55-or-over housing. The provisions regarding familial status shall not apply to housing intended and operated for occupancy by at least one person 55 years of age or older per unit, provided that the housing satisfies the following requirements:

a. At least 80% of the occupied units in the housing facility are occupied by at least one person 55 years of age or older per unit except that a newly constructed housing facility for first occupancy after March 12, 1989, need not comply with this section until 25% of the units in the facility are occupied.

(1) For purposes of this section, "occupied unit" means:

(a) A dwelling unit that is actually occupied by one or more persons on the date that the exemption for 55-or-older housing is claimed; or

(b) A temporarily vacant unit, if the primary occupant has resided in the unit during the past year and intends to return on a periodic basis.

(2) For purposes of this section, occupied by at least one person 55 years of age or older means that on the date the exemption for 55-or-older housing is claimed:

(a) At least one occupant of the dwelling is 55 years of age or older; or

(b) If the dwelling unit is temporarily vacant, at least one of the occupants immediately prior to the date of which the unit was vacated was 55 years of age or older.

(3) Newly constructed housing for first occupancy after March 12, 1989, need not comply with the requirements of this section until at least 25% of the units are occupied. For purposes of this section, newly constructed housing includes facilities or communities that have been wholly unoccupied for at least 90 days prior to reoccupancy due to renovation or rehabilitation.

b. Housing satisfies the requirements of the 55 or older exemption even though:

(1) There are units occupied by employees of the housing facility or community (and family members residing in the same unit) who are under 55 years of age provided the employees perform substantial duties directly related to the management or maintenance of the housing facility or community.

(2) There are units occupied by persons who are necessary to provide a reasonable accommodation to disabled residents and who are under the age of 55.

(3) Reserves all unoccupied units for occupancy by at least one person 55 years of age or older until at least 80% of the units are occupied by at least one person who is 55 years of age or older.

c. Where application of the 80% rule results in a fraction of a unit, that unit shall be considered to be included in the units that must be occupied by at least one person 55 years of age or older.

d. Each housing facility or community may determine the age restriction for units that are not occupied by at least one person 55 years of age or older so long as the housing facility or community complies with the provisions of 18VAC135-50-220.

Statutory Authority

§§ 36-96.20 C and 54.1-2105 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR585-01-05 § 2.15, eff. December 1, 1991; amended, Volume 19, Issue 24, eff. September 10, 2003.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.