Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 19. Public Safety
Agency 30. Department of State Police
Chapter 20. Motor Carrier Safety Regulations
10/24/2020

19VAC30-20-205. Maximum Driving Time for Property-Carrying Vehicles - § 395.3.

Article 7
Part 395 - Hours of Service of Drivers

Any driver of a property-carrying commercial motor vehicle, operated wholly in the intrastate transportation of construction materials and equipment as defined in § 395.2, shall not exceed 12 hours of driving time following 10 consecutive hours off duty or drive after having been on duty 16 hours following 10 consecutive hours off duty. No driver shall drive if he has been on duty 70 hours in a seven-consecutive-day period if the employing motor carrier does not operate commercial motor vehicles every day of the week or 80 hours in an eight-consecutive-day period if the employing motor carrier operates commercial vehicles every day of the week.

Statutory Authority

§ 52-8.4 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Volume 22, Issue 10, eff. March 1, 2006.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.