Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 19. Public Safety
Agency 30. Department of State Police
Chapter 70. Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Regulations
4/14/2024

19VAC30-70-3. Class I offenses.

Class I offenses are unacceptable work performances less serious in nature, but which require correction in order to maintain an efficient and effective Official Motor Vehicle Inspection Program. A violation of any paragraph of the following sections of the Official Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual and rules and agreements not covered in the Official Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual or those disseminated by other means shall constitute a Class I offense, unless designated otherwise:

19VAC30-70-10 A through D

19VAC30-70-10 F through I

19VAC30-70-10 K through O

19VAC30-70-10 U

19VAC30-70-20 in its entirety

19VAC30-70-30 in its entirety

19VAC30-70-40 in its entirety

19VAC30-70-50 in its entirety

19VAC30-70-60 in its entirety

19VAC30-70-70 in its entirety

19VAC30-70-80 B 3

19VAC30-70-160 in its entirety (except subdivisions I 12 and 13 f (2))

19VAC30-70-170 in its entirety

19VAC30-70-200 in its entirety

19VAC30-70-290 in its entirety

19VAC30-70-310 in its entirety

19VAC30-70-330 in its entirety

19VAC30-70-360 D 4 e and f

19VAC30-70-410 in its entirety

19VAC30-70-440 B

19VAC30-70-530 in its entirety (except subdivisions K 10 i and K 11 g (2))

19VAC30-70-540 in its entirety

19VAC30-70-570 in its entirety

19VAC30-70-660 in its entirety

Disciplinary action for Class I offenses shall be:

1st offense - Verbal counseling - Recorded on Form SP-164.

2nd offense - Written reprimand from the safety officer or his designee.

3rd offense - Suspension of not less than 15 or more than 30 days.

Offenses shall be cumulative in nature and shall remain active for 24 months from date of offense. When Class II, III, or IV offenses are active, discipline can be written reprimand or suspension of not more than 60 days.

Statutory Authority

§ 46.2-1165 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 12, Issue 21, eff. August 7, 1996; amended, Virginia Register Volume 28, Issue 24, eff. August 1, 2012; Volume 32, Issue 24, eff. October 3, 2016; Volume 35, Issue 1, eff. October 4, 2018.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.