Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 19. Public Safety
Agency 30. Department of State Police
Chapter 70. Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Regulations
4/23/2024

19VAC30-70-4. Class II offenses.

Class II offenses shall be violations of any section of the Official Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual considered very serious, but the consequence of such violation or omission is not likely to be an imminent cause or contributing factor to a traffic crash or other vehicle related injury. A violation of the following sections of the Official Motor Vehicle Safety Inspection Manual shall constitute a Class II offense unless designated otherwise:

19VAC30-70-150 in its entirety

19VAC30-70-180 in its entirety

19VAC30-70-210 in its entirety

19VAC30-70-230 in its entirety

19VAC30-70-240 in its entirety

19VAC30-70-250 in its entirety

19VAC30-70-260 in its entirety

19VAC30-70-270 in its entirety

19VAC30-70-280 in its entirety

19VAC30-70-300 in its entirety

19VAC30-70-320 in its entirety

19VAC30-70-360 A 7 and C

19VAC30-70-380 in its entirety

19VAC30-70-390 in its entirety

19VAC30-70-420 in its entirety

19VAC30-70-520 in its entirety

19VAC30-70-550 in its entirety

19VAC30-70-580 in its entirety

19VAC30-70-600 in its entirety

19VAC30-70-610 in its entirety

19VAC30-70-620 in its entirety

19VAC30-70-630 in its entirety

19VAC30-70-640 in its entirety

19VAC30-70-650 in its entirety

19VAC30-70-670 in its entirety

19VAC30-70-680 in its entirety

Disciplinary action for a Class II offense shall be:

1st Offense - Verbal counseling - Recorded on Form SP-164.

2nd Offense - Written reprimand from the safety officer or his designee.

3rd Offense - Suspension of not less than 30 or more than 60 days.

Offenses are cumulative in nature and shall remain active for a period of 24 months from date of offense.

When Class I, III, or IV offenses are active, discipline can be written reprimand or suspension of not more than 90 days.

Statutory Authority

§ 46.2-1165 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 12, Issue 21, eff. August 7, 1996; amended, Virginia Register Volume 28, Issue 24, eff. August 1, 2012; Volume 32, Issue 24, eff. October 3, 2016; Volume 35, Issue 1, eff. October 4, 2018.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.