Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 2. Agriculture
Agency 5. Department of Agriculture And Consumer Services
Chapter 141. Health Requirements Governing the Admission of Agricultural Animals, Pet Animals, and Other Animals or Birds into Virginia
5/19/2022

2VAC5-141-110. Other ruminant entry requirements; exemptions.

A. Within the 30 days prior to its date of entry into Virginia, an other ruminant must be deemed healthy and free of infectious diseases after examination by an accredited veterinarian, and all required tests must be completed. Proof of examination, test results, and official identification must be submitted with the permit request and on a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection in a format approved by the State Veterinarian. All other ruminants shall be accompanied by an electronic or written Certificate of Veterinary Inspection or alternative movement documentation approved by the State Veterinarian, which shall be in the possession of the person in charge of such other ruminants.

B. All other ruminants entering Virginia must bear an individual identification number, and such identification number must be noted on the Certificate of Veterinary Inspection. Identification can be a microchip, ear tag issued by a state or federal entity, or other form of identification approved by the State Veterinarian.

C. Any other ruminant originating from a region not considered free of tuberculosis for cattle by the USDA shall be subject to a tuberculosis test and found negative within 60 days prior to entry into Virginia. Any other ruminant six months of age or younger that is accompanying its dam that has tested negative for tuberculosis is not subject to this requirement.

D. Any sexually intact other ruminant originating from a region not considered free of brucellosis for cattle by the USDA shall be subject to a brucellosis test and found negative within 30 days prior to entry into Virginia. Any sexually intact other ruminant six months of age or younger that is accompanying its dam that has tested negative for brucellosis is not subject to this requirement.

E. This section shall not be construed to (i) permit the entry into Virginia of any species of animal otherwise prohibited or restricted by any state or federal law, regulation, or directive or (ii) contravene additional entry requirements imposed by any state or federal law, regulation, or directive.

F. All testing required by this section shall be considered official if (i) conducted by a state, federal, tribal, or accredited veterinarian or (ii) collected by a state, federal, tribal, or accredited veterinarian and conducted by an official animal health laboratory approved by a state or federal animal health agency as dictated by testing protocol.

Statutory Authority

§§ 3.2-5902 and 3.2-6002 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 28, Issue 8, eff. January 18, 2012; amended, Virginia Register Volume 35, Issue 9, eff. February 7, 2019.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.