Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 2. Agriculture
Agency 5. Department Of Agriculture And Consumer Services
Chapter 141. Health Requirements Governing the Admission of Agricultural Animals, Pet Animals, and Other Animals or Birds into Virginia
10/18/2021

2VAC5-141-80. Pet animal entry requirements; exemptions.

A. Within the 10 days prior to its date of entry into Virginia, a pet animal must be deemed healthy and free of infectious diseases after examination by an accredited veterinarian. Proof of examination must be submitted with the permit request and on a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection in a format approved by the State Veterinarian.

B. No dog or cat younger than seven weeks of age may be imported into Virginia unless accompanied by its dam if the dam is known to be alive.

C. Any dog or cat older than four months of age entering Virginia shall be currently vaccinated for rabies.

D. A pet animal kept properly under control by its owner or custodian when traveling through Virginia to another state shall not be subject to the requirements of this chapter.

E. A pet animal brought into Virginia by a resident of Virginia or by a resident of another state who intends to make his residence in Virginia shall not be subject to the requirements of this chapter unless the pet animal is brought into Virginia to be offered for public adoption, transfer, sale, trade, or promotional incentive.

F. A pet animal (i) brought into Virginia for less than 10 days, (ii) for the purpose of hunting or legal exhibition, and (iii) with no change of ownership shall not be subject to the requirements of this chapter.

G. This section shall not be construed to (i) permit the entry into Virginia of any species of animal otherwise prohibited or restricted by any state or federal law, regulation, or directive or (ii) contravene additional entry requirements imposed by any state or federal law, regulation, or directive.

Statutory Authority

§§ 3.2-5902 and 3.2-6002 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 28, Issue 8, eff. January 18, 2012; amended, Virginia Register Volume 32, Issue 3, eff. November 19, 2015; Volume 35, Issue 9, eff. February 7, 2019.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.