Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 2. Agriculture
Agency 5. Department of Agriculture And Consumer Services
Chapter 501. Regulations Governing the Cooling, Storing, Sampling and Transporting of Milk
4/22/2024

2VAC5-501-50. Cooling temperature and storage standards for milk stored on a dairy farm.

A. Each person that operates a dairy farm shall cool raw milk to 40°F or cooler, but not frozen, within two hours after milking and the temperature at any time thereafter shall not be warmer than 50°F. Raw milk that is warmer than a temperature of 50°F two hours after the first milking or at any time thereafter shall be deemed a public health hazard and shall not be utilized in any milk, milk product, or dairy product, offered for sale, or sold.

B. No person that operates a dairy farm and holds a permit to produce milk for manufacturing purposes shall sell, offer to sell, or process any milk for manufacturing purposes if the age of the milk is older than 76 hours after the completion of the first milking. Raw milk for manufacturing purposes older than 76 hours shall be deemed to be a public health hazard.

Statutory Authority

§§ 3.2-5206, 3.2-5223, and 3.2-5224 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 21, Issue 8, eff. January 26, 2005; amended, Virginia Register Volume 32, Issue 23, eff. August 25, 2016; Volume 36, Issue 24, eff. September 4, 2020.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.