Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 22. Social Services
Agency 40. Department of Social Services
Chapter 141. Licensing Standards for Independent Foster Homes
4/10/2020

22VAC40-141-30. General Requirements.

Part II
General Requirements for Providers

A. Children placed in independent foster homes by their parents or legal guardian shall not remain in care longer than 180 days.

Exception: A child's placement in the independent foster home may exceed 180 days for reasons of parental illness/recuperation or military deployment if that was the reason for the placement and the provider refers the child to the local department of social services and makes a request for an assessment of the care and custody of the child to determine if additional services or evaluations are necessary.

B. For a child placed in the independent foster home by a temporary entrustment agreement, if it appears that the child cannot be returned to the child's parent or guardian within 90 days of the date of placement, the provider shall petition the local juvenile and domestic relations court within 30 days of placement to request an assessment of the care and custody of the child.

C. Providers shall be at least 21 years of age.

D. Providers shall have either a bachelor's degree in a field related to family services, child care and development, social work or education or a high school diploma or a G.E.D. and at least one year of experience providing care to children in the age range to be placed in the home.

E. Providers who accept children with special needs shall have experience or training directly relevant to the developmental levels and special needs of the children in care.

F. The provider shall be responsible for the home's day-to-day operation and for meeting licensing requirements.

Statutory Authority

§§ 63.2-217 and 63.2-1734 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Volume 15, Issue 10, eff. March 3, 1999; amended, Virginia Register Volume 21, Issue 06, eff. February 1, 2005; Volume 22, Issue 10, eff. February 22, 2006.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.