Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 4. Conservation And Natural Resources
Agency 15. Department of Wildlife Resources
Chapter 275. Game: Hunter Education
12/3/2022

4VAC15-275-20. Definitions.

The following words and terms when used in this chapter shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly requires a different meaning:

"Accompanied and directly supervised" means, in the case of an apprentice hunter, that a licensed person older than 18 years of age maintains a close visual and verbal contact with, provides adequate direction to, and can immediately assume control of the firearm from the apprentice hunter. In the case of a hunter 12 years of age or younger, the term means that the licensed adult is within sight of the person the age of younger than 12 years of age.

"Adult" means the parent or legal guardian of the person age younger than 12 years of age, or such person the age of older than 18 years of age designated by the parent or legal guardian.

"Approved course provider" is any individual, business, or organization that makes available to the hunting public a hunter education course that is approved by the International Hunter Education Association – United States (IHEA-USA) and is accepted by the department. An approved course provider shall have executed and have on file a valid cooperative agreement with the department. The department will make information regarding such approved courses and providers readily available for public access.

"Board" means the Board of Wildlife Resources.

"Department" means the Department of Wildlife Resources.

"Hunter education course" means a course offered in the classroom, through the Internet, or through an electronic format that provides course content and test questions that at a minimum meet the International Hunter Education Association-USA Education Standards, May 2, 2014, set forth by the International Hunter Education Association-USA (IHEA-USA) and are accepted by the department. A hunter education course shall include no less than 50 test questions, which shall include at least eight test questions specific to Virginia hunting laws.

"IHEA-USA" means the International Hunter Education Association-USA.

"Virginia Hunter Education Card" means a card authorized for issuance by the department to a person who has met the minimum standard of hunter education course competency. This card may be issued as an original or a replacement hunter education course card.

Statutory Authority

§§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 31, Issue 25, eff. August 1, 2015; amended, Virginia Register Volume 37, Issue 5, eff. January 1, 2021.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.