Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 4. Conservation and Natural Resources
Agency 15. Department of Game and Inland Fisheries
Chapter 340. Fish: Seines and Nets
10/25/2020

4VAC15-340-20. Haul Seines to Take Fish for Personal Use.

A. Authorization to take fish for personal use. Pursuant to §§ 29.1-412 and 29.1-416 of the Code of Virginia, a permit to use a haul seine to take fish for personal use authorizes the holder of such permit to take nongame fish (except for those species listed in 4VAC15-20-130) with a haul seine for private table use, but not for sale in the counties of Franklin, Henry and Patrick, and in those waters as specified in § 29.1-531 of the Code of Virginia in the county for which such permit is issued, except as otherwise prohibited in 4VAC15-320-100, 4VAC15-330-60, 4VAC15-330-20 (Repealed), and in waters listed in subsection F of this chapter.

B. Holder to be present when seine operated. The holder of a permit to take fish with a haul seine for personal use must be present when the seine is being operated but may have other persons to assist him who are not required to have a permit. However, those assisting the permittee or handling live fish or both must meet the fishing license requirements of the Commonwealth.

C. Length and size of haul seines. The length of a haul seine to take fish for personal use shall not be more than 60 feet in length. The minimum size of mesh shall be 1-½-inch bar mesh (3-inch stretch mesh).

D. Season to take fish with a haul seine. The season to take fish with a haul seine for personal use shall be from July 1 through September 30, both dates inclusive.

E. Department notification required to use a haul seine. Persons permitted to use a haul seine for personal use must notify the regional law-enforcement office a minimum of 48 hours prior to use.

F. Haul seine use restricted in certain areas. The use of haul seines for personal use is prohibited in the following stream sections of Franklin and Patrick counties:

FRANKLIN COUNTY

Roanoke River from County Route 634 crossing upstream to the Roanoke/Franklin County line.

PATRICK COUNTY

Smith River from Philpott Lake upstream including headwaters.

Rock Castle Creek from its confluence with Smith River upstream, including headwaters.

Dan River from VA/NC state line upstream to County Route 631 crossing.

Poorhouse Creek from its confluence with North Fork Mayo River upstream including headwaters.

North Fork Mayo River from its confluence with Poorhouse Creek upstream.

Statutory Authority

§§ 29.1-501 and 29.1-502 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR325-03-3 § 2, eff. January 1, 1992; amended, Volume 11, Issue 05, eff. January 1, 1995.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.