Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 4. Conservation And Natural Resources
Agency 25. Department Of Mines, Minerals And Energy
Chapter 35. Certification Requirements for Mineral Miners
9/16/2021

4VAC25-35-120. General mineral miner.

A. As set forth in § 45.1-161.292:28 of the Code of Virginia, miners commencing work after January 1, 1997, shall have a general mineral miner certification. Persons excluded from the general mineral miner certification are those involved in delivery, office work, maintenance, service and construction work, other than the extraction and processing of minerals, who are contracted by the mine operator. Hazard training as required by 30 CFR Part 46 or 30 CFR Part 48 shall be provided to these persons.

B. Applicants shall complete certification training in first aid and mineral mining regulations and law, which is conducted by a training instructor approved by the division, a certified MSHA instructor, or a certified mine foreman. Training shall include the following topics, subtopics and practical applications:

1. First aid training shall convey knowledge of first aid practices including identification of trauma symptoms, recognition and treatment of external and internal bleeding, shock, fractures, and exposure to extreme heat or cold. Training shall include a demonstration of skills or passing an examination, as evidenced by the instructor certification submitted in a form acceptable to the division.

2. Law and regulation training shall convey highlights of the mineral mine safety laws of Virginia and the safety and health regulations of Virginia. Specifically, information shall be provided on miner responsibilities and accountability, certification requirements, violations, penalties, appeals and reporting violations to the division. Training shall include a demonstration of skills or passing an examination, as evidenced by the instructor certification submitted in a form acceptable to the division.

C. The trainer will certify to the department that the training and demonstrations required by § 45.1-161.292:28 B of the Code of Virginia and this section have occurred.

D. Applicants who hold a valid first aid certificate as noted in 4VAC25-35-10 shall be considered to have met the first aid requirements.

E. Applicants who have completed training may commence work and shall be considered provisionally certified for up to 60 days from the date the instructor completes the training.

F. The instructor shall submit verification of certification in a form acceptable to the division and the $10 fee for each applicant who completes the training, together with a class roster of all persons who complete the training, within 30 days of the training date.

G. The mine operator shall maintain the following records for those miners required to obtain a general mineral miner certification and those who qualify for exemption, starting January 1, 1997:

1. The employee name, address, and phone number.

2. The job title, employment date and general mineral miner number if applicable.

3. The date training was completed and the instructor providing it for nonexempt employees.

4. If the employee is exempt from the requirements, the date they began working in the mineral mining industry in Virginia.

H. Applicants who already possess a valid general coal miner surface certification pursuant to 4VAC25-20 shall be deemed to have met the requirements of this section.

Statutory Authority

§ 45.1-161.292:19 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 12, Issue 8, eff. February 7, 1996; amended, Virginia Register Volume 20, Issue 23, eff. August 25, 2004; Volume 28, Issue 21, eff. July 18, 2012; Volume 30, Issue 6, eff. January 3, 2014; Volume 32, Issue 7, eff. January 15, 2016.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.