Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 6. Criminal Justice And Corrections
Agency 20. Department of Criminal Justice Services
Chapter 100. Rules Relating to Compulsory Minimum Training Standards for Correctional Officers of the Department of Corrections, Division of Adult Institutions

6VAC20-100-20. Compulsory minimum training standards.

A. Pursuant to the provisions of subdivision 9 of § 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia, the department under the direction of the board establishes the compulsory minimum training standards for full-time or part-time correctional officers of the Department of Corrections.

B. Individuals hired as correctional officers as defined in § 53.1-1 of the Code of Virginia shall meet or exceed the compulsory minimum training standards at a certified criminal justice training academy, external training location, or satellite facility and complete field training requirements. Correctional officers shall comply with the following:

1. Successfully complete basic correctional officer training at a certified criminal justice training academy, external training location, or satellite facility, which includes receiving a minimum of 400 hours of department approved training in the following categories:

a. Security and supervision;

b. Communication;

c. Safety;

d. Emergency response;

e. Conflict and crisis management;

f. Law and legal;

g. Duty assignments and responsibilities;

h. Professionalism;

i. Basic corrections officer firearms training; and

j. Physical fitness training.

2. Successfully complete a minimum of 200 hours of approved training in the category of field training identified in the Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services Field Training and On the Job Training Performance Outcomes.

Statutory Authority

§ 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR240-01-14 § 2, eff. January 1, 1988; amended, Virginia Register Volume 35, Issue 21, eff. July 1, 2019.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.