Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 6. Criminal Justice And Corrections
Agency 20. Department Of Criminal Justice Services
Chapter 100. Rules Relating to Compulsory Minimum Training Standards for Correctional Officers of the Department of Corrections, Division of Adult Institutions
12/5/2020

6VAC20-100-25. Approval authority.

A. The board shall be the approval authority for the training categories and hours identified in 6VAC20-100-20 of the compulsory minimum training standards. Amendments to training categories shall be made in accordance with the provisions of the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).

B. The Committee on Training (COT) shall be the approval authority for the performance outcomes, training objectives, criteria, and lesson plan guides that support the performance outcomes. Performance outcomes, training objectives, criteria, and lesson plan guides supporting the compulsory minimum training standards may be added, deleted, or amended by the COT based upon written recommendation of the director of the Department of Corrections, a chief of police, sheriff, agency administrator, academy director, or the Curriculum Review Committee.

C. Before approving changes to the performance outcomes, training objectives, criteria, or lesson plan guides, the COT shall schedule an opportunity for public comment during a meeting of the COT. A minimum of 60 days before the meeting of the COT, the proposed changes shall be distributed to all certified training academies for an opportunity to comment. Notice of changes to the performance outcomes, training objectives, criteria, and lesson plan guides shall be filed for publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations.

D. The department shall notify each certified criminal justice training academy in writing of any COT approved revisions. COT approved revisions require a minimum of 30 days' notice to certified criminal justice training academies prior to becoming effective.

Statutory Authority

§ 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Volume 35, Issue 21, eff. July 1, 2019.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.