Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 6. Criminal Justice and Corrections
Agency 20. Department of Criminal Justice Services
Chapter 230. Regulations Relating to Special Conservator of the Peace
1/25/2020

6VAC20-230-70. Renewal Registration Application.

A. Applications for registration renewal should be received by the department at least 30 days prior to expiration. The department will provide a renewal notification to the last known mailing address of the registered individual. However, if the individual does not receive a renewal notification, it is the responsibility of the individual to ensure that renewal requirements are filed with the department. Registration renewal applications received by the department after the expiration date shall be subject to all applicable, nonrefundable renewal fees plus reinstatement fees.

B. Each person applying for registration renewal shall meet the minimum requirements for eligibility as follows:

1. Successfully complete the in-service training, and firearms retraining if applicable, pursuant to the in-service training requirements set forth by this chapter; and

2. Be in good standing in every jurisdiction where appointment is granted. This subdivision shall not apply to any probationary periods during which the individual is eligible to operate under the registration.

C. The department may renew a registration when the department receives the following:

1. A properly completed renewal application provided by the department;

2. The applicable, nonrefundable registration renewal fee;

3. Fingerprint card, application form, and applicable nonrefundable fee pursuant to 6VAC20-230-40; and

4. A copy of the court order granting special conservator of the peace authority and jurisdiction if changed from the original filed with the department.

D. Upon completion of the renewal registration application requirements, the department may issue a registration letter for a period not to exceed 12 months. This registration letter shall be submitted by the applicant to a specified entity for a state-issued photo identification card, or a decal will be provided by the department.

E. Any renewal application received by the department shall meet all renewal requirements prior to the expiration date of a registration or shall be subject to the reinstatement requirements set forth in 6VAC20-230-90.

Statutory Authority

§ 9.1-150.2 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Volume 21, Issue 26, eff. October 5, 2005; amended, Virginia Register Volume 33, Issue 04, eff. November 16, 2016.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.