Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 6. Criminal Justice And Corrections
Agency 20. Department Of Criminal Justice Services
Chapter 270. Regulations Relating to Campus Security Officers
10/21/2021

6VAC20-270-130. Instructor administrative requirements.

A. Campus security officer instructors shall ensure that compulsory minimum entry-level trainings are conducted in accordance with requirements established in this chapter. Adherence to the administrative requirements, attendance, and standards of conduct are the responsibility of the instructor.

B. Administrative requirements.

1. An approved instructor must submit a notification to conduct a compulsory minimum entry-level training in a manner approved by the department. All notifications shall be received by the department no less than 30 calendar days before the beginning of each compulsory minimum entry-level. The department may waive the 30-day notification at its discretion.

2. The instructor must submit notification of any changes to the date, time, location, or cancellation of a future training to the department. This notice must be received by the department at least 24 hours in advance of the scheduled starting time of the training. In the event that a session must be cancelled on the scheduled date, the department must be notified as soon as practical.

3. A test approved by the department shall be administered at the conclusion of each module of the compulsory minimum entry-level training. The student must attain a grade of 70% on each module. All test documents must be returned to the department with an accompanying training roster in a manner approved by the department.

4. The instructor shall submit tests and training rosters to the department. These shall be received by the department within seven calendar days, or if mailed, postmarked no later than five business days following the training completion date.

5. Instructors will conduct trainings utilizing the curriculum developed or approved by the department, including, at a minimum, any compulsory minimum entry-level trainings modules established pursuant to this chapter. Instructors must maintain accurate and current information on relevant laws and make necessary changes to the curriculum. It is the instructor's responsibility to assure they have the most recent curriculum supplied or approved by the department.

6. The instructor shall permit the department to inspect and observe any training.

7. Compulsory minimum entry-level trainings conducted not in accordance with the Code of Virginia and this chapter are invalid.

C. Attendance.

1. Campus security officers enrolled in an approved training are required to be present for the modules required for each training.

2. Tardiness and absenteeism will not be permitted. Individuals violating these provisions will be required to make up any training missed. Such training must be completed by the certification process deadline and cannot be used to extend that deadline. Individuals not completing the compulsory minimum entry-level training within this period may not be certified or recertified and may be required to complete the entire training.

3. Each individual attending an approved training shall comply with the regulations promulgated by the department and any other rules applicable to the training. If the instructor considers a violation of the rules detrimental to the training of other students or to involve cheating on tests, the instructor may expel the individual from the training. The instructor shall immediately report such action to the designated campus security point of contact for the employing college, university, PSS business, or private security services training school and the department.

Statutory Authority

§ 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 29, Issue 20, eff. July 3, 2013.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.