Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 9. Environment
Agency 25. State Water Control Board
Chapter 610. Groundwater Withdrawal Regulations
7/8/2020

9VAC25-610-44. Technical Evaluation of Withdrawals for Subdivisions with 30 or More Lots Served by Private Wells.

A. On or after July 1, 2018, the developer of a subdivision, as defined in § 15.2-2201 of the Code of Virginia, located in a groundwater management area, shall apply for a technical evaluation from the department prior to final subdivision plat approval if there will be 30 or more lots within the subdivision served by private wells, as defined in § 32.1-176.3 of the Code of Virginia. This requirement shall not apply to the developer of a subdivision who constructs all of the private wells within the subdivision in the surficial aquifer.

B. The application for a technical evaluation shall be on a form established by the department and shall include a geophysical log from a geophysical borehole located within the subdivision. Such borehole may subsequently be utilized as a groundwater supply for a dwelling unit or for other appropriate purpose within the subdivision.

C. Within 60 days of receiving a complete application for a technical evaluation, the department shall perform a technical evaluation and provide to the developer a recommendation sufficient to serve the water needs of each dwelling unit in the subdivision that specifies the aquifers that will minimize unmitigated impacts to groundwater resources and any offsite impacts to existing groundwater users.

D. The recommendation to the developer shall be nonbinding; however, any such developer who constructs one or more private wells in the subdivision in an aquifer inconsistent with the department's recommendation shall prepare and submit a mitigation plan to the department, consistent with requirements for mitigation plans established by the board, and record a mitigation plan approved by the department with the subdivision plat prior to constructing any private wells within the subdivision.

E. The department shall charge the developer a fee not to exceed $5,000 to recover the cost of performing the technical evaluation. The fee shall be paid prior to the department providing the developer with the recommendation of the technical evaluation.

Statutory Authority

§ 62.1-256 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Volume 35, Issue 04, eff. November 14, 2018.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.