Administrative Code

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 18. Professional and Occupational Licensing
Agency 80. Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians
1/23/2020

Chapter 30. Opticians Regulations

Part I
General Definitions

18VAC80-30-10. Definitions.

The following words and terms when used in this chapter shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Apprentice" means a person at least 16 years of age who is covered by a written agreement with an employer and approved by the Virginia Apprenticeship Council.

"Board" means the Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians.

"Contact lens endorsed optician" means any person not exempted by § 54.1-1506 of the Code of Virginia who is a Virginia licensed optician and who has received a contact lens endorsement from the board, who fits contact lenses on prescription from licensed physicians or licensed optometrists for the intended wearers.

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation.

"Fit or dispense" means to measure, adapt, fit or adjust eyeglasses, spectacles, lenses, or appurtenances to the human face, or to verify the prescription to be correct in the prescription eyeglasses or prescription optical devices.

"Licensed optician" means any person who is the holder of a license issued by the Board for Opticians board.

"Optician" means any person not exempted by § 54.1-1506 of the Code of Virginia who prepares or dispenses eyeglasses, spectacles, lenses, or related appurtenances for the intended wearers or users on prescriptions from licensed physicians or licensed optometrists, or as duplications or reproductions of previously prepared eyeglasses, spectacles, lenses, or related appurtenances; or who, in accordance with such prescriptions, duplications or reproductions, measures, adapts, fits, and adjusts eyeglasses, spectacles, lenses, or appurtenances to the human face.

"Opticianry" means the personal health service that is concerned with the art and science of ophthalmic optics as applied to the compounding, filling and adaptations of ophthalmic prescriptions, products, and accessories.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Former 18VAC100-20-5 derived from Virginia Register Volume 17, Issue 9, eff. March 1, 2001; amended and renumbered as 18VAC80-30-10, Virginia Register Volume 28, Issue 23, eff. August 15, 2012; Errata, 35:19 VA.R. 2306 May 13, 2019.

Part II
Entry Requirements

18VAC80-30-20. Qualifications of applicant.

An applicant for a license shall furnish satisfactory evidence on an application provided by the board establishing that:

1. The applicant is at least 18 years of age unless emancipated under the provisions of § 16.1-333 of the Code of Virginia;

2. The applicant is a graduate of an accredited high school, has completed the equivalent of grammar school and a four-year high school course, or is a holder of a certificate of general educational development;

3. The applicant is in good standing as a licensed optician in every jurisdiction where licensed;

4. The applicant has not been convicted in any jurisdiction of a misdemeanor or felony involving sexual offense, drug distribution or physical injury, or any felony that directly relates to the profession of opticianry. The board shall have the authority to determine, based upon all the information available, including the applicant's record of prior convictions, if the applicant is unfit or unsuited to engage in the profession of opticianry. Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for the purposes of this subdivision. The licensee shall provide a certified copy of a final order, decree, or case decision by a court or regulatory agency with the lawful authority to issue such order, decree, or case decision, and such copy shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such conviction. This record shall be forwarded by the licensee to the board within 10 days after all appeal rights have expired;

5. The applicant has successfully completed one of the following education requirements:

a. A board-approved two-year course in a school of opticianry, including the study of topics essential to qualify for practicing as an optician; or

b. A two-year apprenticeship with a minimum of one school year of related instruction or home study while registered in the apprenticeship program in accordance with the standards established by the state Department of Labor and Industry, Division of Registered Apprenticeship, and approved by the board;

6. The applicant has disclosed his current mailing address;

7. The nonresident applicant for a license has filed and maintained with the department an irrevocable consent for the director of the department to serve as service agent for all actions filed in any court in the Commonwealth; and

8. The applicant shall certify, as part of the application, that the applicant has read and understands Chapter 15 (§ 54.1-1500 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and the regulations of the board.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Former 18VAC100-20-10 derived from VR505-01-1:1 § 1.1, eff. November 1, 1991; amended, Virginia Register Volume 14, Issue 4, eff. December 29, 1997; Volume 15, Issue 26, eff. November 1, 1999; Volume 17, Issue 9, eff. March 1, 2001; amended and renumbered as 18VAC80-30-20, Virginia Register Volume 28, Issue 23, eff. August 15, 2012; Volume 35, Issue 12, eff. April 1, 2019.

18VAC80-30-30. Opticians licensed in another state.

A. An optician licensed in another state seeking to be licensed as an optician in Virginia shall submit an application on a form provided by the board with the required fee. All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated.

B. The board, using the following standards, shall issue a license to any person licensed in another state who:

1. Has met requirements equivalent to those listed in 18VAC 80-30-20; and

2. Has passed a substantially equivalent examination.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Former 18VAC100-20-50 derived from VR505-01-1:1 § 1.5, eff. November 1, 1991; amended, Virginia Register Volume 14, Issue 4, eff. December 29, 1997; Volume 15, Issue 26, eff. November 1, 1999; Volume 17, Issue 9, eff. March 1, 2001; amended and renumbered as 18VAC80-30-30, Virginia Register Volume 28, Issue 23, eff. August 15, 2012.

18VAC80-30-40. Registration for voluntary practice by out-of-state licensees.

Any optician who does not hold a license to practice in Virginia and who seeks registration in accordance with subdivision 5 of § 54.1-1506 of the Code of Virginia shall:

1. File a complete application for registration on a form provided by the board within 15 days prior to engaging in such practice. An incomplete application will not be considered;

2. Provide a complete list of professional licensure in each state in which he has held a license and a copy of any current license;

3. Provide a name of the nonprofit organization, the dates and location of the voluntary provision of services; and

4. Provide a notarized statement from a representative of the nonprofit organization attesting to its compliance with the provisions of subdivision 5 of § 54.1-1506 of the Code of Virginia.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Former 18VAC100-20-53 derived from Virginia Register Volume 21, Issue 20, eff. August 1, 2005; amended and renumbered as 18VAC80-30-40, Virginia Register Volume 28, Issue 23, eff. August 15, 2012.

18VAC80-30-50. Fees.

A. The fee for examination or examinations shall consist of the combination of an administrative charge of $25 (spectacle), $25 (contact lens), and the appropriate contract charges. Examination service contracts shall be established in compliance with the Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 2.2-4300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). The total examination fee shall not exceed a cost of $1,000 to the applicant.

B. All application fees for licenses are nonrefundable and the date of receipt by the board or its agent is the date which will be used to determine whether it is on time.

C. Application and examination fees must be submitted with the application for licensure.

The following fees shall apply:

FEE TYPE

AMOUNT DUE

WHEN DUE

Application for licensure

$100

With application

Application for contact lens certification

$100

With application

Renewal

$100

Up to the expiration date on the license with a 30-day grace period

Late renewal (includes renewal fee)

$125

Between 30 and 60 days after the expiration date on the license

Reinstatement (includes renewal and late renewal fees)

$225

After 60 days following the expiration date on the license

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Former 18VAC100-20-54 derived from Virginia Register Volume 17, Issue 9, eff. March 1, 2001; amended, Virginia Register Volume 21, Issue 20, eff. August 1, 2005; Errata 21:23 VA.R. 3311 July 25, 2005; amended and renumbered as 18VAC80-30-50, Virginia Register Volume 28, Issue 23, eff. August 15, 2012.

18VAC80-30-60. Examinations.

A. All examinations required for licensure shall be approved by the board and administered by the board, or its agents or employees acting on behalf of the board.

B. The board shall schedule an examination to be held at least twice each calendar year at a time and place to be designated by the board.

C. The applicant shall follow all rules established by the board with regard to conduct at an examination. Such rules shall include any written instructions communicated prior to the examination date and any instructions communicated at the site, either written or oral, on the date of the examination. Failure to comply with all rules established by the board with regard to conduct at an examination shall be grounds for denial of application.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Former 18VAC100-20-55 derived from Virginia Register Volume 17, Issue 9, eff. March 1, 2001; amended and renumbered as 18VAC80-30-60, Virginia Register Volume 28, Issue 23, eff. August 15, 2012.

18VAC80-30-70. Content of optician examination and reexamination.

A. Applicants for licensure shall pass a written examination and a practical examination approved by the board.

B. The optician examination given by the board may include, but is not limited to, the following topics:

1. Ophthalmic materials;

2. Ophthalmic optics and equipment;

3. Ophthalmic spectacle lens grinding;

4. Prescription interpretation;

5. Theory of light;

6. Finishing, fitting and adjusting of eyeglasses and frames;

7. Ethics of relationship in respect to patient and physician or optometrist;

8. Anatomy and physiology; and

9. Applicable laws and regulations.

C. Any applicant who fails the written or practical examination, or both examinations, shall be required to be reexamined on the failed examination(s) and shall pay the reexamination fee(s).

D. An applicant shall pass the written and practical examination within two years of the initial test date. After two years, the applicant shall file a new application and pay the required fee.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Former 18VAC100-20-56 derived from Virginia Register Volume 17, Issue 9, eff. March 1, 2001; amended and renumbered as 18VAC80-30-70, Virginia Register Volume 28, Issue 23, eff. August 15, 2012.

18VAC80-30-80. Endorsement to fit contact lenses.

The board shall administer a contact lens examination to fit contact lenses. The "Contact Lens" endorsement shall be mandatory for licensed opticians to fit contact lenses as set out in §§ 54.1-1508 and 54.1-1509 of the Code of Virginia, and the contact lens endorsement shall not be issued unless the individual's license is in good standing. A contact lens endorsed optician is any Virginia licensed optician who has been endorsed by the board to fit contact lens.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Former 18VAC100-20-60 derived from VR505-01-1:1 § 1.6, eff. November 1, 1991; amended, Virginia Register Volume 15, Issue 26, eff. November 1, 1999; Volume 17, Issue 9, eff. March 1, 2001; amended and renumbered as 18VAC80-30-80, Virginia Register Volume 28, Issue 23, eff. August 15, 2012.

18VAC80-30-90. Content of contact lens endorsement examination and reexamination.

A. The contact lens endorsement examination administered by the board may include, but is not limited to, the following topics:

1. Rigid lens verification;

2. Lens identification;

3. Keratomy;

4. Slit lamp;

5. Slides (fitting patterns, edge patterns, quality stains); and

6. Insertion/removal.

B. Any applicant who fails the written or practical contact lens examination, or both examinations, who desires to retake the examination(s), shall be required to be reexamined on the failed examination(s) and shall pay the reexamination fee(s).

C. An applicant shall pass the written and practical examination within two years of the initial test date. After two years, the applicant shall file a new application and pay the required fee.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Former 18VAC100-20-65 derived from Virginia Register Volume 17, Issue 9, eff. March 1, 2001; amended and renumbered as 18VAC80-30-90, Virginia Register Volume 28, Issue 23, eff. August 15, 2012.

Part III
Renewal

18VAC80-30-100. License renewal required.

A. Licenses issued under this chapter shall expire 24 months from the last day of the month in which the license was issued.

B. The board shall mail a renewal application form to the licensee at the last known mailing address. Failure to receive this notice does not relieve the licensee of the obligation to renew. Prior to the expiration date shown on the license, each licensee desiring to renew his license must return all of the required forms and the appropriate fee to the board as outlined in 18VAC80-30-50. If the licensee fails to receive the renewal notice, a copy of the existing license shall be submitted to the board with the required fee.

C. Licensees shall be required to renew their license by submitting the appropriate fee made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia. Any licensee who fails to renew within 30 days after the license expires shall pay a late renewal fee, in addition to the renewal fee, as set out in 18VAC80-30-50.

D. The board, in its discretion and for just cause, may deny renewal of a license. Upon such denial, the applicant for renewal may request that a proceeding be held in accordance with the provision of the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Former 18VAC100-20-70 derived from VR505-01-1:1 § 2.1, eff. November 1, 1991; amended, Virginia Register Volume 14, Issue 4, eff. December 29, 1997; Volume 15, Issue 26, eff. November 1, 1999; Volume 17, Issue 9, eff. March 1, 2001; amended and renumbered as 18VAC80-30-100, Virginia Register Volume 28, Issue 23, eff. August 15, 2012.

Part IV
Reinstatement

18VAC80-30-110. Reinstatement required.

A. If a licensee fails to renew his license within 60 days after the expiration date on the license, the licensee must apply for reinstatement on a form provided by the board.

1. Individuals for reinstatement shall continue to meet the standards of entry as set out in subdivisions 1 through 8 of 18VAC80-30-20.

2. Individuals for reinstatement shall submit the required fee as set out in 18VAC80-30-50.

B. Twenty-four months after expiration of the license, the individual may be reinstated if he can show proof of continuous, active, ethical and legal practice outside of Virginia. If not, the individual must show proof of completion of a board-approved review course which measures current competence. Credit will not be allowed for any review course which has not been approved by the board prior to administration of the course.

C. Sixty months after expiration of the license, the individual, who cannot show proof of continuous, active, ethical and legal practice outside of Virginia, shall be required to apply as a new applicant for licensure. He shall be required to meet all current education requirements and retake the board's written and practical examination.

D. The board, in its discretion and for just cause, may deny reinstatement of a license. Upon such denial, the applicant for reinstatement may request that a proceeding be held in accordance with the provisions of the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).

E. A licensee who reinstates his license shall be regarded as having been continually licensed without interruption. Therefore, the licensee shall remain under the disciplinary authority of the board during the entire period and may be held accountable for his activities during this period. Nothing in these regulations shall divest the board of its authority to discipline a licensee for a violation of the law or regulations during the period of licensure as set out in this provision.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Former 18VAC100-20-81 derived from Virginia Register Volume 17, Issue 9, eff. March 1, 2001; amended, Virginia Register Volume 21, Issue 20, eff. August 1, 2005; amended and renumbered as 18VAC80-30-110, Virginia Register Volume 28, Issue 23, eff. August 15, 2012.

18VAC80-30-120. Lenses and frames standards.

A. Power Tolerance (diopters).

Sphere: Plano to ±.6.50

±.13 diopter

Above ±.6.50

±2%

Cylinder: Plano - 2.00

±.13 diopter

-2.12 to -4.50

±.15 diopter

above -4.50

±4%

B. Cylinder Axis.

Cyl. Power Diopters

Degrees ±

0.12 - 0.37

0.50 - 0.75

0.87 - 1.50

1.62 and above

C. Distance Optical Center. Contribution to net horizontal prism from processing should not exceed 2/3 prism diopter. A maximum of ±2.5mm variation from the specified distance optical center is permissible in higher power lens combinations.

D. Prism Tolerances (Vertical). Contribution to imbalance from processing should not exceed 1/3 prism diopters. A maximum of 1.0mm difference in vertical level is permissible in higher power lens combinations.

E. Segment Location.

Vertical

±.1.0 mm

Horizontal

±.2.5 mm

Tilt or twist in the case of a flat-top segment, the tilt of its horizontal axis should be less than 1/2 mm in differential elevation between the segment edges.

F. Multifocal Additions.

Plano + 8.00

±.13 diopter

Above + 8.00

±.18 diopter

G. Base Curve. When specified, the base curve should be supplied within ±0.75 diopter.

H. Warpage. The cylindrical surface power induced in the base curve of a lens should not exceed 1 diopter. This recommendation need not apply within 6mm of the mounting eyewire.

I. Localized errors (aberration). Areas outside a 20mm radius from the specified major reference point or optical center need not be tested for aberration. Progressive lenses are exempt from this requirement.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Former 18VAC100-20-85 derived from Virginia Register Volume 17, Issue 9, eff. March 1, 2001; amended and renumbered as 18VAC80-30-120, Virginia Register Volume 28, Issue 23, eff. August 15, 2012.

18VAC80-30-130. Contact lens standards.

To fit contact lenses, the following shall be done:

1. The prescription (RX) must show evidence that contact lenses may be worn by the patient before the prescription can be filled by the licensed optician. Verbal approval from the optometrist or ophthalmologist or its agents or employees is acceptable. The licensed optician must make a notation in the patient's record of the name of the authorizing optometrist or ophthalmologist and the date of the authorization.

2. The optician must use all the following to fit contact lenses:

a. Slit Lamp;

b. Keratometer; and

c. Standardized Snellen type acuity chart.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Former 18VAC100-20-87 derived from Virginia Register Volume 17, Issue 9, eff. March 1, 2001; amended and renumbered as 18VAC80-30-130, Virginia Register Volume 28, Issue 23, eff. August 15, 2012.

18VAC80-30-140. Display of license.

Every person to whom a current license has been granted under this chapter shall visibly display his unaltered license in a conspicuous place in plain view of the public in the principal office in which he works. A duplicate license which has been notarized shall be posted in any branch offices.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Former 18VAC100-20-90 derived from VR505-01-1:1 § 3.1, eff. November 1, 1991; amended, Virginia Register Volume 17, Issue 9, eff. March 1, 2001; amended and renumbered as 18VAC80-30-140, Virginia Register Volume 28, Issue 23, eff. August 15, 2012.

18VAC80-30-150. Notification of change of address or name.

Notice in writing shall be given to the board in the event of any change of name or address. Such notice shall be mailed to the board within 30 days of the change of name or address. The board shall not be responsible for the licensee's failure to receive notices, communications and correspondence caused by the licensee's failure to promptly notify the board in writing of any change of name or address.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Former 18VAC100-20-100 derived from VR505-01-1:1 § 3.2, eff. November 1, 1991; amended, Virginia Register Volume 17, Issue 9, eff. March 1, 2001; amended and renumbered as 18VAC80-30-150, Virginia Register Volume 28, Issue 23, eff. August 15, 2012.

18VAC80-30-160. Grounds for disciplinary action.

A. The board is empowered to revoke, suspend, or refuse to grant or renew a license and is empowered to impose a fine up to the statutory limit, as authorized under § 54.1-202 of the Code of Virginia, per violation on a licensee for any of the following reasons:

1. Using nonprescribed controlled substances as defined in § 54.1-3401 of the Code of Virginia or alcohol at the work place during working hours;

2. Displaying professional incompetence or negligence, including but not limited to failure to comply with this part in the performance of opticianry;

3. Presenting false or fraudulent information on an application certifying possession of the qualifications required under 18VAC80-30-20;

4. Violating or inducing others to violate any provisions of Chapter 1, 2, 3, or 15 of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, or of any other statute applicable to the practice of the profession herein regulated, or of any provisions of this chapter;

5. Publishing or causing to be published any advertisement related to opticianry that is false, deceptive, or misleading;

6. Having been convicted in any jurisdiction of a misdemeanor or felony involving sexual offense, drug distribution or physical injury, or of any felony that directly relates to the profession of opticianry. The board shall have the authority to determine, based upon all the information available, including the applicant's record of prior convictions, if the applicant is unfit or unsuited to engage in the profession of opticianry. Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for the purposes of this section. The licensee shall provide a certified copy of a final order, decree or case decision by a court or regulatory agency with the lawful authority to issue such order, decree or case decision, and such copy shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such conviction. This record shall be forwarded by the licensee to the board within 10 days after all appeal rights have expired;

7. Having been disciplined by another jurisdiction in the practice of opticianry. Documentary evidence of such discipline shall be submitted by the licensee to the board within 10 days after all appeal rights have expired; or

8. Allowing any person to engage in the practice of opticianry, except an optician apprentice or student enrolled in a course in a school of opticianry under the direct supervision of a licensed optician.

B. A finding of improper or dishonest conduct in the practice of the profession by a court of competent jurisdiction shall be cause for disciplinary action.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Former 18VAC100-20-110 derived from VR505-01-1:1 § 3.3, eff. November 1, 1991; amended, Virginia Register Volume 17, Issue 9, eff. March 1, 2001; amended and renumbered as 18VAC80-30-160, Virginia Register Volume 28, Issue 23, eff. August 15, 2012.

18VAC80-30-170. Accountability of licensee.

A licensee shall be responsible for his acts or omissions and for the acts of his agents or employees or his staff in the performance of opticianry services.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Former 18VAC100-20-120 derived from Virginia Register Volume 17, Issue 9, eff. March 1, 2001; amended and renumbered as 18VAC80-30-170, Virginia Register Volume 28, Issue 23, eff. August 15, 2012.

18VAC80-30-180. Approval of review courses.

A. Review courses set out in this chapter shall be approved by the board, except those provided by institutions, schools and universities approved by the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia, for which continuing education units are awarded. Training courses requiring board approval shall be approved by the board prior to commencing in accordance with subsection B of this section.

B. Training activities for which experience credit may be granted must be conducted in general conformance with the International Association for Continuing Education and Training's "Criteria and Guidelines for Quality Continuing Education and Training Programs: the CEU and Other Measurement Units," 1998. The board reserves the right to waive any of the requirements of the association's guidelines on a case-by-case basis. Only classroom, laboratory and field trip contact time will be used to compute training credits. No credit will be given for breaks, meals, or receptions.

1. Organization. The board will only approve training offered by a sponsor who is an identifiable organization with a mission statement outlining its functions, structure, process and philosophy, and that has a staff of one or more persons with the authority to administer training.

2. Training records. The board will only approve training offered by a sponsor who maintains training records for all participants for a minimum of five years, and who has a written policy on retention and release of training records.

3. Instructors. The board will only approve training conducted by personnel who have demonstrated competence in the subject being taught, an understanding of the learning objective, a knowledge of the learning process to be used, and a proven ability to communicate.

4. Objectives. The board will only approve courses that have a series of stated objectives that are consistent with the job requirements of an optician. The training content must be consistent with those objectives.

5. Course completion requirements. For successful completion of a training program, participants must attend 90% or more of the class contact time and must demonstrate their learning through written examinations, completion of a project, self-assessment, oral examination, or other assessment technique.

C. The board shall consider the following information, to be submitted by the instructor, institution, school or university on forms provided by the board, at least 45 days prior to the scheduled training activity:

1. Course information.

a. Course title;

b. Planned audience;

c. Name of sponsor;

d. Name, address, phone number of contact person;

e. Schedule presentation dates;

f. Detailed course schedule, hour-by-hour;

g. List of planned breaks;

h. Scheduled presentation location(s); and

i. Relevancy of course to opticianry licensing.

2. Instructor qualifications.

a. Name of instructor;

b. Title of instructor; and

c. Summary of qualifications to teach this course.

3. Training materials.

a. Course objectives -- A listing of the course objectives stated in terms of the skills, knowledge, or attitude the participant will be able to demonstrate as a result of the training;

b. Course outline -- A detailed outline showing the planned activities that will occur during the training program, including major topics, planned presentation sequence, laboratory and field activities, audio-visual presentations, and other major activities;

c. Course reference materials -- A list of the name, publisher and publication date for commercially available publications; for reference materials developed by the course sponsor or available exclusively through the course, a copy of the reference materials;

d. Audio-visual support materials -- A listing of any commercially available audio-visual support material that will be used in the program; a brief description of any sponsor or instructor generated audio-visual material that will be used; and

e. Handouts -- Identification of all commercially available handout material that will be used; copies of all other planned handouts.

4. Determination of successful completion. A description of the means that will be used to determine the successful completion of the training program by individual attendees, such as examinations, projects, personal evaluations by the instructor, or other recognized evaluation techniques.

D. Recurring training programs. If there are plans to present the same course of instruction routinely at multiple locations with only minor modifications and changes, the board may approve the overall program rather than individual presentations if so requested by the sponsor.

1. The board shall consider all of the information listed above except those items related to specific offerings of the course.

2. Board approval may be granted for a specific period of time or for an indefinite period.

3. Board approval will apply only to those specific offerings certified by the sponsoring organization as having been conducted by instructors meeting the established criteria and in accordance with the board-approved courses, outlines and objectives.

4. To maintain approval of the program, changes made to the program since initial approval must be submitted to the board for review and approval. Changes must be approved by the board prior to any training subsequent to the changes.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Former 18VAC100-20-130 derived from Virginia Register Volume 17, Issue 9, eff. March 1, 2001; amended and renumbered as 18VAC80-30-180, Virginia Register Volume 28, Issue 23, eff. August 15, 2012.

Forms (18VAC80-30)

License and Examination Application, 11LIC (rev. 2004).

Contact Lens Endorsement Application, 11CLEND (rev. 2004).

Reciprocity Application, 11REC (eff. 2004).

Reinstatement Application, 11REI (rev. 2004).

Voluntary Practice Registration Application, 11VOLREG (eff. 7/03).

Sponsor Certification for Voluntary Practice Registration, 11VRSPCERT (eff. 7/03).

Documents Incorporated by Reference (18VAC80-30)

Criteria and Guidelines for Quality Continuing Education and Training Programs: the CEU and Other Measurement Units, International Association for Continuing Education and Training, 1998.



Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.