Administrative Code

Virginia Administrative Code
10/16/2021

Article 8. Prospective Rates

12VAC30-90-80. Time frames.

Article 8
Prospective Rates

A. For cost reports filed on or after August 1, 1992, a prospective rate shall be determined by DMAS within 180 days of the receipt of a complete cost report. (See 12VAC30-90-70 A.) Rate adjustments shall be made retroactive to the first day of the provider's new cost reporting year. Where a field audit is necessary to set a prospective rate, DMAS shall have an additional 120 days to determine any appropriate adjustments to the prospective rate as a result of such field audit. This time period shall be extended if delays are attributed to the provider.

B. Subsequent to establishing the prospective rate DMAS shall conclude the desk audit of a providers' cost report and determine if further field audit activity is necessary. DMAS will seek repayment or make retroactive settlements when audit adjustments are made to costs claimed for reimbursement.

Statutory Authority

§ 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia and Item 319 (II) of Chapter 1073 of the 2000 Acts of Assembly.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR460-03-4.1940:1 Article 6, eff. August 1, 1993; amended, Virginia Register Volume 12, Issue 16, eff. July 1, 1996; Volume 17, Issue 18, eff. July 1, 2001.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.