Administrative Code

Virginia Administrative Code
2/25/2024

Part III. Renewal/Reinstatement

18VAC25-21-80. Notice of renewal.

The board will mail a renewal notice to the licensee outlining the amount due and procedures for renewal to the last known mailing address of record. Failure to receive this notice shall not relieve the individual or firm licensee of the obligation to renew.

Licenses issued under this chapter shall be issued for a two-year period. Each license holder, corporation or firm shall be required to renew the license by submitting the proper fee made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia, with verification of current surety bond coverage as detailed in 18VAC25-21-30. By renewing the license, the licensee is certifying continued compliance with the Standards of Practice in Part IV (18VAC25-21-100 et seq.) and Standards of Conduct in Part V (18VAC25-21-180 et seq.), as well as Continuing Education Requirements in Part VII (18VAC25-21-230 et seq.) of this chapter.

Statutory Authority

§§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-602 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR150-01-2:1 § 3.1, eff. August 1, 1995; amended, Virginia Register Volume 23, Issue 21, eff. August 1, 2007; Volume 32, Issue 1, eff. November 1, 2015.

18VAC25-21-90. Failure to renew.

A. Any licensee who fails to renew a license within 30 days after the license expires, shall be required to pay a late renewal fee.

B. Any licensee, including individuals initially licensed pursuant to § 54.1-603 A of the Code of Virginia, who fails to renew his license within six calendar months after the expiration date of the license shall be required to apply for reinstatement of the license. The applicant shall submit to the board a reinstatement application and fee and comply with the following paragraph.

If the license has expired for six months or more, but less than two years, the applicant shall be required to submit a reinstatement application, which shall be evaluated by the board to determine if the applicant meets the renewal requirements. In addition, individual license holders applying for reinstatement are required to provide evidence of compliance with the continuing education requirements as contained in this chapter. A license that is reinstated shall be deemed as having been continuous without interruption. Nothing in these regulations shall divest the board of its authority to discipline a license holder for a violation of the law or regulation during the period of time for which the licensee was licensed.

C. If the license has expired for two years or more, the applicant shall be required to submit a new application and meet current entry requirements that are in effect as of the date the application is received by the board office. The applicant shall be required to submit the examination fee and sit for and pass the Virginia Licensed Auctioneer's Examination or comply with the provisions contained in 18VAC25-21-40. Any auctioneering activity conducted between the time the previous license expired and the effective date of the new license shall be considered unlicensed activity.

D. The date that the complete renewal application, including fees and all required documentation, is received by the board or its agent will determine whether a license will be renewed without penalty or will be subject to reinstatement requirements.

E. Licenses issued under this regulation shall expire 24 months from the last day of the month in which the license was issued. The expiration date of the license will be included on the license.

Statutory Authority

§§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-602 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR150-01-2:1 § 3.2, eff. August 1, 1995; amended, Virginia Register Volume 18, Issue 7, eff. February 1, 2002; Volume 23, Issue 21, eff. August 1, 2007; Volume 32, Issue 1, eff. November 1, 2015.

18VAC25-21-95. Board discretion to deny renewal or reinstatement.

The board may deny renewal or reinstatement of a license for the same reason as it may refuse initial licensure or discipline a licensee. The licensee has the right to request further review of any such action by the board under the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).

Statutory Authority

§§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-602 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 32, Issue 1, eff. November 1, 2015.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.