Administrative Code

Virginia Administrative Code
2/28/2024

Part VI. Schools of Auctioneering

18VAC25-21-190. Application for course approval.

Schools seeking approval of their courses shall file a request with the board. The request shall include the following information:

1. Name and address of the school;

2. Locations where classes will be held;

3. Length of the course and total number of hours of instruction;

4. Subjects covered together with number of instruction hours assigned;

5. Names and qualifications of instructors (area of expertise and experience).

Statutory Authority

§§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-602 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR150-01-2:1 § 6.1, eff. August 1, 1995.

18VAC25-21-200. Requirements for course approval.

To receive course approval the institution must offer to Virginia candidates a minimum of 80 hours of classroom and field instruction in the conduct of auction business to include fundamentals of auctioneering, elementary principles of real estate, brokerage, contract drawing, advertising, sale preparation, bid calling, settlement statements, ethics and exposure to the current rules and regulations of the Virginia Auctioneers Board. There must be at least five instructors who have been licensed auctioneers for at least five years and who specialize in different fields of the auction business.

Statutory Authority

§§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-602 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR150-01-2:1 § 6.2, eff. August 1, 1995; amended, Virginia Register Volume 18, Issue 7, eff. February 1, 2002.

18VAC25-21-210. Amendments and changes.

Any change in the information provided by the school to the board as required by 18VAC25-21-190, 18VAC25-21-200 or 18VAC25-21-220 shall be reported to the board in writing within 30 days of such an occurrence.

Statutory Authority

§§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-602 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 18, Issue 7, eff. February 1, 2002.

18VAC25-21-220. Periodic requalification for continued course approval.

The board may require that schools that have previously obtained course approval provide the board with evidence, in a form set forth by the board, that they continue to comply with the requirements of 18VAC25-21-190 and 18VAC25-21-200. Failure to continue to comply with the board's requirements or respond to such a request may result in the board withdrawing its approval.

Statutory Authority

§§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-602 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 18, Issue 7, eff. February 1, 2002; amended, Virginia Register Volume 32, Issue 1, eff. November 1, 2015.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.