Administrative Code

Virginia Administrative Code
10/19/2021

Part III. Renewal

18VAC50-22-110. Renewal required.

Licenses issued under this chapter shall expire two years from the last day of the month in which they were issued, as indicated on the license.

Statutory Authority

§§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-1102 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR220-01-2:1 § 3.1, eff. March 31, 1995; amended, Virginia Register Volume 17, Issue 21, eff. September 1, 2001.

18VAC50-22-120. Procedures for renewal.

The Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation will mail a notice of renewal to the licensee at the last known address of record. Failure to receive this notice shall not relieve the licensee of the obligation to renew. If the licensee does not receive the notice of renewal, a copy of the license may be substituted with the required fee.

Statutory Authority

§§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-1102 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR220-01-2:1 § 3.2, eff. March 31, 1995; amended, Virginia Register Volume 17, Issue 21, eff. September 1, 2001.

18VAC50-22-130. Qualifications for renewal.

A. The license holder's completed renewal form and appropriate fees must be received within 30 days of the license expiration date in order to renew the license. Applications and fees received after the 30-day period will be processed in accordance with Part IV (18VAC50-22-160 et seq.) of this chapter.

B. Applicants for renewal of a Class C license shall continue to meet all of the qualifications for licensure set forth in 18VAC50-22-40. Applicants for renewal of a Class B license shall continue to meet all of the qualifications for licensure set forth in 18VAC50-22-50. Applicants for renewal of a Class A license shall continue to meet all of the qualifications for licensure set forth in 18VAC50-22-60.

C. Applicants for renewal of a residential building energy analyst firm license shall continue to meet all of the qualifications for licensure set forth in 18VAC50-22-62 and shall submit proof of insurance as required in 18VAC50-22-62 C.

Statutory Authority

§§ 54.1-201, 54.1-1102, and 54.1-1146 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR220-01-2:1 § 3.3, eff. March 31, 1995; amended, Virginia Register Volume 17, Issue 21, eff. September 1, 2001; Volume 32, Issue 3, eff. January 1, 2016.

18VAC50-22-140. Renewal fees.

Each check or money order should be made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia. All fees required by the board are nonrefundable.

In the event that a check, money draft, or similar instrument for payment of a fee required by statute or regulation is not honored by the bank or financial institution named, the applicant or regulant shall be required to remit fees sufficient to cover the original fee, plus an additional processing charge set by the department:

Fee Type

When Due

Amount Due

Class C renewal

with renewal application

$195

Class B renewal

with renewal application

$225

Class A renewal

with renewal application

$240

Residential Building Energy Analyst Firm renewal

with renewal application

$195

The date on which the renewal fee is received by the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation or its agent shall determine whether the licensee is eligible for renewal or must apply for reinstatement.

For renewal fees received on or before August 31, 2021, the fees shall be $165 for a Class C renewal, $195 for a Class B renewal, and $210 for a Class A renewal.

Statutory Authority

§§ 54.1-201, 54.1-1102, and 54.1-1146 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR220-01-2:1 § 3.4, eff. March 31, 1995; amended, Virginia Register Volume 13, Issue 5, eff. January 1, 1997; Volume 15, Issue 12, eff. May 1, 1999; Volume 17, Issue 21, eff. September 1, 2001; Volume 19, Issue 6, eff. January 1, 2003; Volume 21, Issue 20, eff. August 1, 2005; Volume 26, Issue 11, eff. April 1, 2010; Volume 31, Issue 20, eff. August 1, 2015; Volume 32, Issue 3, eff. January 1, 2016; Volume 33, Issue 19, eff. July 1, 2017; Volume 35, Issue 21, eff. August 1, 2019.

18VAC50-22-150. Board discretion to deny renewal.

A. The board may deny renewal of a license for the same reasons as it may refuse initial licensure or discipline a licensee. The licensee has a right to appeal any such action by the board under the Administrative Process Act (§ 9-6.14:1 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).

B. Failure to timely pay any monetary penalty, reimbursement of cost, or other fee assessed by consent order or final order may result in delaying or withholding services provided by the department such as, but not limited to, renewal, reinstatement, processing a new application, or exam administration.

Statutory Authority

§§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-1102 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR220-01-2:1 § 3.5, eff. March 31, 1995; amended, Virginia Register Volume 17, Issue 21, eff. September 1, 2001.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.