Administrative Code

Virginia Administrative Code
5/12/2021

Part III. Renewal of Certification

18VAC62-20-50. Renewal required.

Certificates issued under this chapter shall expire two years from the last day of the month in which they were issued, as indicated on the certificate.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2344 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 21, Issue 20, eff. July 15, 2005.

18VAC62-20-60. Qualification for renewal.

A. As a condition of renewal, all certificate holders shall be required to satisfactorily complete two hours of fair housing training approved by the board or the Real Estate Board.

B. As a condition of renewal, all certificate holders shall have taken the two-hour fair housing training within two years of the date of renewal application.

C. Each certificate holder desiring to renew the certificate shall return to the board the renewal application form and the appropriate fee as outlined in 18VAC62-20-90.

D. If the certificate holder has in the last two years been found in a court or an administrative body of competent jurisdiction to have violated the Virginia Fair Housing Act (§ 36-96.1 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), the fair housing laws of any jurisdiction of the United States including without limitation Title VIII of the Civil Rights Act of 1968 (82 Stat. 73), or the Civil Rights Act of 1866 (14 Stat. 27), there being no appeal therefrom or the time for appeal having elapsed, then the certificate holder shall disclose said violations and complete an additional two hours of training in other applicable federal and state discrimination laws and regulations.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2344 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 21, Issue 20, eff. July 15, 2005.

18VAC62-20-70. Procedures for renewal.

The board will mail a renewal notice to the certificate holder at the last known address. Failure of the certificate holder to receive these notices does not relieve the certificate holder of the obligation to renew.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2344 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 21, Issue 20, eff. July 15, 2005.

18VAC62-20-80. Failure to renew.

A. If the requirements for renewal of a certificate, including receipt of the fee by the board, are not completed by the certificate holder within 30 days of the expiration date noted on the certificate, a late renewal fee shall be required in addition to the renewal fee.

B. If the requirements for renewal of a certificate, including receipt of the fee by the board, are not completed by the certificate holder within six months of the expiration date noted on the certificate, the certificate holder shall apply as a new applicant.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2344 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 21, Issue 20, eff. July 15, 2005.

18VAC62-20-90. Fees for renewal.

A. All fees for renewal are nonrefundable, and the date of actual receipt by the board or its agent is the date that will be used to determine whether it is timely received.

B. Renewal fees are as follows:

Renewal fee

$25

Late renewal fee

$25

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2344 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 21, Issue 20, eff. July 15, 2005.

18VAC62-20-100. Board discretion to deny renewal.

The board may deny renewal of a certificate for the same reasons as it may refuse initial certification.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2344 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 21, Issue 20, eff. July 15, 2005.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.