Administrative Code

Virginia Administrative Code
5/12/2021

Part V. Education

18VAC62-20-120. Proprietary school standards; course requirements; instructor requirements.

A. Every applicant to the board for a proprietary school approval shall submit evidence of financial responsibility to ensure that these schools protect the public health, safety and welfare.

B. Every applicant to the board for approval as an instructor shall have the following qualifications:

1. The applicant shall be a qualified expert in a field related to fair housing who will teach only in the area of his expertise. Each applicant will be required to state his area of expertise and furnish proof of his expertise including, but not limited to, educational transcripts, professional certificates and letters of reference that will verify the applicant's expertise.

2. The applicant shall disclose whether in the last five years he has been found in a court or an administrative body of competent jurisdiction to have violated the Virginia Fair Housing Act (§ 36-96.1 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), the fair housing laws of any jurisdiction of the United States including without limitation Title VIII of the Civil Rights Act of 1968 (82 Stat. 73), or the Civil Rights Act of 1866 (14 Stat. 27), there being no appeal therefrom or the time for appeal having elapsed.

C. Providers of fair housing courses shall submit all subjects to the board for approval prior to initially offering the course. The board shall approve each course based on the relevance of the subject to fair housing. Those providers that propose to offer courses must submit the course along with any required documentation on an application provided by the board.

D. All instructors shall provide each student with a document that the student may use as proof of course completion. The document shall contain the number of hours completed.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2344 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 21, Issue 20, eff. July 15, 2005.

18VAC62-20-130. School renewal procedures.

A. Approval of a proprietary school shall expire two years from the last day of the month in which it was issued, as indicated on the proprietary school approval.

B. The board will mail a renewal notice to the proprietary school at the last known address. Failure of the proprietary school to receive the notice does not relieve the proprietary school of the obligation to renew.

C. If the renewal requirements are not completed within 30 days of the expiration date noted on the proprietary school approval, the proprietary school shall no longer offer board-approved courses.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2344 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 21, Issue 20, eff. July 15, 2005.

18VAC62-20-140. Course renewal procedures.

A. Approval of a course shall expire two years from the last day of the month in which it was issued, as indicated on the approval document.

B. The board will mail a renewal notice to the course provider at the last known address. Failure of the course provider to receive the notice does not relieve the course provider of the obligation to renew.

C. If the renewal requirements are not completed within 30 days of the expiration date noted on the course approval, the course shall no longer be offered as a board approved course.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2344 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 21, Issue 20, eff. July 15, 2005.

18VAC62-20-150. Instructor renewal procedures.

A. Approval of an instructor shall expire two years from the last day of the month in which it was issued, as indicated on the approval document.

B. The board will mail a renewal notice to the instructor at the last known address. Failure of the instructor to receive the notice does not relieve the instructor of the obligation to renew.

C. If the requirements for renewal of an approved instructor, including receipt of the fee by the board, are not completed within 30 days of the expiration date on the approval document, a reinstatement fee shall be required. Approval as an instructor may be reinstated for up to one year following the expiration date with payment of the reinstatement fee. After one year, the approval as an instructor shall not be reinstated under any circumstances and the instructor must meet all current requirements and apply as a new applicant.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2344 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 21, Issue 20, eff. July 15, 2005.

18VAC62-20-160. Fees.

A. The application fee for approval of a proprietary school shall be $100.

B. The renewal fee for proprietary school approval shall be $100.

C. The application for approval as an instructor shall be $100.

D. The renewal fee for an instructor shall be $100.

E. The reinstatement fee for an instructor shall be $50.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2344 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 21, Issue 20, eff. July 15, 2005.

18VAC62-20-170. Posting of instructor approval.

Copies of the instructor approval shall be available at the location where a course is taught.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2344 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 21, Issue 20, eff. July 15, 2005.

18VAC62-20-180. Withdrawal of approval.

The board may withdraw approval of any proprietary school, approved instructor or course for the following reasons:

1. The proprietary school, instructor or course no longer meets the standards established by the board.

2. Where the instructor has been found to have violated or cooperated with others in violating any provision of Chapter 5.1 (§ 36-96.1 et seq.) of Title 36 of the Code of Virginia, the fair housing laws of any jurisdiction of the United States including without limitation Title VIII of the Civil Rights Act of 1968 (82 Stat. 73), or the Civil Rights Act of 1866 (14 Stat. 27).

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2344 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 21, Issue 20, eff. July 15, 2005.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.